The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cron Daemon Errors - please help

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jeroman8, Jun 1, 2003.

  1. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I started (after messing with the server) to get an error
    message every 5 minutes from Cron Daemon.

    Subject:
    Cron <root@jrmed> root /usr/libexec/atrun

    Message:
    root: not found


    Don't understand it !!!
    The roots crontab is in /etc/crontab and the owner is root.
    The atrun script is located at the place it says.

    Thanks, Jerry

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Modify the cronjob to be;

    time command (get rid of the root word)

    So intead of

    root /usr/libexec/atrun

    you have

    /usr/libexec/atrun

    That should fix it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks !!!

    Below is the roots cron file.
    I have not added, do not need anything else than cpanels
    and server default settings.

    Is this correct, something missing ?
    (I'll remove "root" as you said but I don't get that fix since
    it has been working before or has root been added...)


    # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE - edit the master and reinstall.
    # (/scripts/.crontab installed on Sun Jun 1 20:12:43 2003)
    # (Cron version -- $FreeBSD: src/usr.sbin/cron/crontab/crontab.c,v 1.12.2.4 2001/06/16 03:18:37 peter Exp $)
    SHELL=/bin/sh
    PATH=/etc:/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin
    HOME=/var/log
    */5 * * * * root /usr/libexec/atrun
    0 * * * * root newsyslog
    1 3 * * * root periodic daily
    15 4 * * 6 root periodic weekly
    30 5 1 * * root periodic monthly
    1,31 0-5 * * * root adjkerntz -a
    # run first minute after midnight, every day
    1 0 * * * /etc/init.d/named restart 1> /dev/null 2> /dev/null
    25 3 * * * /scripts/upcp
    */5 * * * * /usr/local/cpanel/bin/dcpumon >/dev/null 2>&1

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I have never seen it work with the word root in there. Cron jbs work as time/command and root is not a command, hence the error.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page