The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cron Error /bin/sh: line 1: GET: command not found

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rodstewart, Apr 8, 2005.

  1. rodstewart

    rodstewart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hamburg Germany
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I try to run the following cron on an centos Server

    * * * * * GET http://username:pass@www.mydomain.com/cscript.php

    but i get this error via email.

    /bin/sh: line 1: GET: command not found

    I have the same error at URLS without username and password.

    Anyone knows why?
    thanks for help
    Sven
     
  2. brentp

    brentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ayr, North Queensland, Australia
    GET is a file installed by PERL. Its used to generate hits to sites.

    Regards,
    Brent
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Well, that's just one use. It's a simple HTTP GET retrieval tool which has perfectly legitimate uses.

    It is part of the LWP perl module, so you should check that LWP is correctly installed.

    Depending on what you're using it for, you could try using curl, wget or lynx to do the same thing.
     
  4. rodstewart

    rodstewart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hamburg Germany
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Ok but i ask me is it correct that i install perl over the apachebuild [*] (Perl Module (not required to run .cgi scripts/not compatible with php) (Version 1.29)?

    But what they mean with "not compatible with php"?
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I'm not sure what you are asking here as it has nothing to do with your thread question. You should only select that option when you build apache/php if you know what it is for, otherwise do not select it, it has nothing at all to do with you perl installation.
     
  6. rodstewart

    rodstewart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hamburg Germany
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    i have find the problem. The cpanel installer forgot to install libwww-perl :eek:

    wget http://mirror.centos.org/centos/3.3/os/i386/RedHat/RPMS/perl-URI-1.21-7.noarch.rpm
    rpm -ihv perl-URI-1.21-7.noarch.rpm

    wget http://mirror.centos.org/centos/3.3/os/i386/RedHat/RPMS/perl-HTML-Tagset-3.03-28.noarch.rpm
    rpm -ihv perl-HTML-Tagset-3.03-28.noarch.rpm

    wget http://mirror.centos.org/centos/3.3/os/i386/RedHat/RPMS/perl-HTML-Parser-3.26-17.i386.rpm
    rpm -ihv perl-HTML-Parser-3.26-17.i386.rpm

    wget http://mirror.centos.org/centos/3.3/os/i386/RedHat/RPMS/perl-libwww-perl-5.65-6.noarch.rpm
    rpm -ihv perl-libwww-perl-5.65-6.noarch.rpm

    After that "GET" work.
     
Loading...

Share This Page