The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CRON Help Needed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Solokron, Feb 24, 2004.

  1. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    How does the cpanel cron jobs interface with cron?

    I have some crons that stopped working three days ago after I typed in cron and I believe it is hosed. I have tried removing the cron jobs in cpanel and re-adding them to no avail.

    Is there any way to clean out cron?
     
  2. euselect

    euselect Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    crontab -l ( list a crontab )
    crontab -r ( remove one )

    man cron to read about cron,

    the cron files live in /var/spool/cron/USERNAME

    if you lucky you have a backup, if not its a hard lesson

    Good luck

    Neil
     
  3. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thank you.

    It looks like the usernames and cron lists are fine.

    Something is hosing up cron itself. It may not even be loading as I see the main cron tasks such as upcp are not even running. Is there a way to rebuild it?


     
    #3 Solokron, Feb 24, 2004
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2004
  4. euselect

    euselect Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi

    First of all check for error messages in /var/log/messages and /var/log/cron

    If you dont find anything wrong there you might try removing the cron daemon and reinstalling it ( backup your crontabs etc first ! )

    you can find out which rpm the crond daemon came in with something like this :

    root@lxcp001 [~]# rpm -qf `which crond`
    vixie-cron-3.0.1-64

    As shown above , this is a redhat 7.3 machine

    Then reinstall it . ( fetch the rpm and rpm -ivh vixie-cron-3.0.1-64.rpm )

    or up2date -i vixie-cron ( if u use up2date )

    Cheers

    Neil
     
  5. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Great info. Thank you euselect!

     
  6. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I believe a simple service crond restart did the trick.

    You gave me some great info for future reference. Thanks!
     
  7. euselect

    euselect Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Apologies , i had assumed you had restarted the service and stuff already.

    However i am glad you resolved your problems anyway :)

    Neil
     
Loading...

Share This Page