The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cron job

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by popeye, Feb 19, 2016.

  1. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi i have noticed that when customers install Ghost blog the cron runs and never stops like a normal one does. Anyone know why or how to fix this please.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    One of the listed features for CSF/LFD is:

    Excessive user process usage reporting and optional termination

    You may want to install and configure CSF/LFD if this type of feature is what you are seeking:

    ConfigServer Security & Firewall

    Thank you.
     
  3. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi i have CSF installed but i can't see anywhere that says terminate cron jobs ?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry i am lost to what i need to do to stop this.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Typically, if a customer is running a process that is causing CPU/Memory issues, the customer is contacted and advised of the issue so they can adjust their script or disable it. You may also find third-party products such as Cloud Linux helpful for these types of issues.

    Thank you.
     
  7. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi thanks again for the reply.

    I have got Cloud Linux how can that help me.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    CageFS will restrict user cron jobs to the caged environment:

    CloudLinux Documentation

    However, why not simply contact the user and advise them to stop running the script?

    Thank you.
     
  9. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi so the process wont effect the server ?

    I have asked them but they have done nothing, just said they need it running every 2 hours. It's only Ghost installs it does this on.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  11. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes CageFS is installed thanks for the info
     
Loading...

Share This Page