The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cron not saving

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mcyates, Dec 3, 2006.

  1. mcyates

    mcyates Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I want to run this cron:

    /home/myfootba/backupsmanager.cgi --db=0 --old=15 --pack --ftp

    but its not saving it or doing it. What can i do?
     
  2. nwilkens

    nwilkens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Monroe MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Cron

    A bit more information please.

    Have you added this entry to your crontab? If so for what user? Can you show me the exact crontab entry?

    A typical crontab entry looks like:

    0 5 * * * /usr/bin/command -o option

    to run command at 5 am.

    Crontab can be mainted via 'crontab -e', and displayed via 'crontab -l'.

    If you have made the proper entries, check to see if crond is running. 'ps -ef|grep crond'

    You may also want to look at: # man 5 crontab

    Hope this helps
    Nick
     
  3. speckados

    speckados Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Acequias :: Granada :: España
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Use crontab -e it's ggod for customer that kwon use shell.

    But the porblem it's:


    Cpanel on version

    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-R95
    Fedora i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    Don't save cron fater user write on his panel.

    There a problem.
     
  4. feanorknd

    feanorknd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok... for the problem of users saving or viewing their own cronjobs through cpanel, you can try this....

    Try before executing as root:

    chmod a+s /usr/bin/crontab

    Giving permissions to execute crontab to others, problem saving cronjobs and watching them later worked at least for me.

    ;) Good luck.
     
  5. AMD64

    AMD64 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Had the same problem today with this on a new cpanel install on Fedora 5

    Code:
    chmod a+s /usr/bin/crontab
    This fixed the issue, thank you feanorknd.
     
  6. mcyates

    mcyates Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks guys this DOES work, i fixed it a couple of days ago but i forgot to post in here.

    Thanks,

    I just need my bandwidth sorted now.
     
  7. ddcarnage

    ddcarnage Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Horray solved it for me to :D
     
  8. jack01

    jack01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had the problem, however I am wondering about a couple of things:

    1) Is this a bug in cpanel or a security feature?

    2) Do any of the more savvy experts here care to advise on the exact security implications of chmod a+s /usr/bin/crontab ?

    Many thanks in advance for any useful information offered.
     
    #8 jack01, Feb 5, 2007
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2007
  9. psychodreams

    psychodreams Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hmm

    Im haveing issues too doesnt control x suppose to save after editing
    Its not doing anything
    or did something change
     
  10. psychodreams

    psychodreams Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    :)

    Nevermind it was defaulted to vi which Im no used to just converted to nano with the following command

    export EDITOR=nano
     
  11. Imago

    Imago Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Change also the permissions for all files in /var/spool/cron
     
  12. sangeeth.m.a

    sangeeth.m.a Registered

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Great

    It worked for me :)
    Thanks!
     
  13. shacker23

    shacker23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hmm... These fixes aren't working for me. If, as root, I run:

    Code:
    crontab -u username -l
    I can see a user's cron jobs. But if I log in as that user and run

    Code:
    crontab -l 
    I get:

    Code:
    no crontab for username
    I've run as root:

    Code:
    chmod a+s /usr/bin/crontab
    chmod a+s /var/spool/cron/*
    But the problem persists. Ideas?
     
  14. shacker23

    shacker23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Weird - this problem fixed itself in the past 24 hours. Maybe the result of some script run in the nightly update? Anyway, all is well with user crontabs again.
     
  15. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For the record, the last update was released on August 15-16.
     
Loading...

Share This Page