Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Cron <root@host> /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup

Discussion in 'Discusión en Español' started by Daniel-ARg, Dec 11, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Daniel-ARg

    Daniel-ARg Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hola a todos!

    Esta es mi primera pregunta a la comunidad de expertos. Estoy muy feliz en formar parte de este foro.

    Tengo contratadas 2 VPS, con distintos proveedores. Desde cada una me llegó un correo con asunto "Cron <root@host> /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup" y el contenido del correo decía "[2017-12-11 10:02:02 -0500] warn [backup] Backup Not Enabled (This can be adjusted in WHM => Backup => Backup Configuration)"

    ¿Alguien me podría explicar qué significa ese mensaje? ¿Es algo crítico?

    Gracias de antemano por cualquier ayuda.

    Saludos!

    Daniel
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,195
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    That message is just letting you know that backups are not enabled. The warning email is no longer sent as of cPanel verison 68.0.16:

    Fixed case CPANEL-16887: Backups: avoid sending cron emails when disabled.

    Thank you.

    Translation:

    Hola,

    Ese mensaje solo le informa que las copias de seguridad no están habilitadas. El correo electrónico de advertencia ya no se envía a partir de cPanel verison 68.0.16:

    Fixed case CPANEL-16887: Backups: avoid sending cron emails when disabled.

    Gracias.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Daniel-ARg likes this.
  3. Daniel-ARg

    Daniel-ARg Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael!

    Thank you very much for your prompt response. Now I understand the case.

    In your opinion, is it convenient to enable and use backups?

    The space that these backups might take up will be taken from the same plan offered by the hosting provider, right?

    Do backup processes tend to be resource and runtime demanding?

    Thank you for your time and help, I appreciate it very much.

    Best regards!


    Daniel
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,195
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi Daniel,

    In some cases, but it really just depends on the size of the accounts, the number of files within the accounts, and your server resources. Note the following option is available under the "Stats and Logs" tab in "WHM Home » Server Configuration » Tweak Settings":

    "Extra CPUs for server load"

    Per it's description:

    The load average above the number of CPUs at which cpuwatch, cpanellogd, backups, and CPU stats consider the system to be in a critical load state. For example, a server with 4 physical CPUs and a value of 2 in this field will be considered “critical” in these cases once the load reaches 6.


    Additionally, you can adjust the following option in "WHM >> Tweak Settings" under the "System" tab:

    I/O priority level at which nightly backups are run


    Per it's description:

    You must compile ionice with your kernel to use this option. ionice manages I/O scheduling for processes on your system. Specifying a lower value for this option gives the process a higher priority. This option can accept integer values between 0 and 7.


    Thank you.

    Yes, that's correct, unless you setup a remote destination (e.g. Google Drive) and store the backups there.

    It's fairly straightforward. We document how to configure backups should you want more information:

    Backup Configuration - Version 68 Documentation - cPanel Documentation
    Backup Configuration FAQ - Version 68 Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice