The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cron states no such file or directory(the file is there)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by schwim, Dec 5, 2007.

  1. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi there guys,

    I'm using a module in a PostNuke install that requires a cron job to be run if you want your RSS feeds updated.

    I've tried:

    http://www.domain.com/index.php?mod...ecache&option=cron&key=sdffj2020943924t577dsk
    and
    /home/domain/public_html//index.php?module=tRSSNews&type=admin&func=updatecache&option=cron&key=sdffj2020943924t577dsk

    Both result in a notice at the specified time tha the cron was supposed to run that no such file or directory was found:

    Is there a reason why cron can't run a command like this?

    thanks,
    json
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, because that isn't a Linux/FreeBSD command.

    Due to all the GET parameters that need to be properly passed in, I'd recommend calling that URL from lynx as the cron job.
     
  3. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi there David,

    I attempted to run it two nights in a row via lynx, but although I'm getting a page output, it's not complete and the feeds aren't updating.

    Might wget work, and if so, how would I "allow" a user other than root to use it?

    thanks,
    json
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If lynx is properly requesting the page and the page is generating the expected display output, then it is likely that it is the script that is malfunctioning rather than lynx. If the script is malfunctioning, it wont matter how you request it - the script will continue to malfunction.
     
  5. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi there David, and thanks for the reply.

    The script works fine. I've tested it via Firefox. When visited in Firefox, the expected output prints to screen, which is just three lines of text.

    When cron runs and Lynx visits the page, instead of three lines of text, I get the whole front page of the site, as if it's stripping off all of the variables. I get the navigation links, a banner, who's online, etc.

    Lynx just doesn't seem to be requesting the whole URL, but instead, just up to index.php.

    thanks,
    json
     
  6. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi there David,

    I created a page with an include pointing to the cron URL. I'll see if that works in lynx before going any further.

    Thanks very much for all of your help.
    json
     
Loading...

Share This Page