The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Crons in WHM?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chris8lunch, Sep 22, 2006.

  1. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How can I set Crons in WHM to do stuff IN WHM, like for example I want WHM to automaticly update system software and server software instead of me having to click the links myself and also "Fix Insecure Permissions (Scripts)"..

    Is there a reason why this doesn't already happen? Could it cause problems?

    Thanks!
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    WHM
    Server Configuration
    Update Config

    not a good idea to let cpanel update by itself
     
  3. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thats totally different updates from what I;m talking about. Maybe you didn't read my post clearly, says nothing about updating cPanel/WHM.
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    when you upcp it does these ???
     
  5. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    huh??? :confused:
     
  6. freedog96150

    freedog96150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Nevada, USA
    What dalem is saying is that the upcp script found in the /scripts directory will take care of the updates you mentioned.

    First set your preferences in Server Configuration -> Update Config
    Next, go to Addon -> Configure cPanel Cron Times and set the time that is best for your server to run the upcp script.

    BTW, the "fix insecure scripts" runs as well from the upcp script.

    I urge you to compare the output of running the Software -> Update Server Software and software -> Update system software to the output from /scripts/upcp. You will find that they are identical. Also the same as running cPanel -> Upgrade to latest version.
     
  7. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm not trying to update cpanel automaticly!! Maybe I'm confused, but it doesn't seem like your talking about my problem at all!
     
  8. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    you mean ability to add/remove custom crons from WHM

    hi chris8lunch,
    i think you were looking for an optino which lists your current cron jobs and ability to add/remove custom crons from WHM. Such a feature is not yet available in standard cpanel installation, anybody with a mod might be able to do so, but i didn't found any yet.

    see ya,
    mohit
     
  9. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nevermind guys, its so simple but no one is getting it.

    Thanks for your help anyway.
     
  10. chris74108

    chris74108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6


    I was not going to reply to this but since you think the others who posted are crazy I thought I would break this down for you.


    1.
    At this point no one has any clue what your talking about.
    Lets keep going
    2.
    Well that sure sounds to me like " I want whm to update every night by itself and I want it to fix insecure permissions. While its at it lets have it update the system software and server software. "

    I think this post answered that best
    So what he is saying is that when you go to update config and correctly setup update config it will do everything you asked for. The part about "configure cpanel cron times" is so you can tell your server when to run the cronjob and update your server instead of letting it pick. He also suggests you go to the Cpanel group in whm and upgrade to latest version since this is what the cronjob does and compare the output that it displays in your browser with what you get when you login ssh and type /scripts/upcp
    because its the same script.
    Should you happen to do this I would recommend waiting until the update in your web browser is complete before running /scripts/upcp
    Running both at the same time could give unexpected results.
     
  11. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    Ok, let me be more specific, I'm not stupid, I know how to do these things but I will explain this in the best SIMPLE way that anyone should be able to understand it.

    WHM has very useful functions, the functions I am talking about are 3. The first is located here,

    I have underlined the feature I am talking about.

    Security
    Fix Insecure Permissions (Scripts)
    Manage SSH Keys
    Manage Wheel Group Users
    Modify Apache Memory Usage
    Quick Security Scan
    Scan for Trojan Horses
    Shell Fork Bomb Protection
    Tweak Security

    I would like to set a cron job for this. Is it possible? No, I don't want to set cron jobs to run this and update cPanel. I said NOTHING about that at all.

    Lets take a look at the next two features I am talking about.

    Again, I have underlined the features I am talking about.

    Software
    Apache Update
    Check/Repair a Perl Script
    Install a Perl Module
    Install a RPM
    Rebuild RPM Database
    Update Backend Scripts
    Update Server Software
    Update System Software

    Yet, again, is there a way to set cron jobs for these features?

    I am not asking anything else, or less, just as put.

    Thanks.:eek:
     
  12. Shrek

    Shrek Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    You can do these things in Shell. All you have to do is edit the /etc/crontab file.

    For the insecure permissions, you would need to find what script it calls and test it in Shell.

    For example, I automated a mail permissions script in WHM each day because they sometimes go bad... so after getting in shell (my system is CentOs so we use nano instead of pico or edit), I enter nano /etc/crontab

    Then, I add the following line:
    00 23 * * * root /scripts/mailperm > /dev/null 2>&1

    This runs each day at 12:23am (just after midnight), and the > /dev/null 2>&1 just prevents me from getting a mail from the server each night with its output. If you want to read the output leave that off and only enter this:
    00 23 * * * root /scripts/mailperm

    I also do this on "locate" to find certain scripts like shell.php ... its in the same area /etc/crontab and I just enter this:
    03 33 * * 4 root locate shell.php

    This runs the 4th day of each week (Sunday is the 1st day), at 3:33 am and I, of course, want the server the server to send the output to me (which goes to the mail account you have for root mail), so I don't enter the > /dev/null 2>&1 here.

    There are many ways you can use this, I even use it to remove mail queue build up each night at midnight.

    I believe this is what you are looking for, and I hope it sends you along the right path.
     
    #12 Shrek, Sep 25, 2006
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2006
  13. Shrek

    Shrek Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    I did some quick research... what you would want to run is this in your /etc/crontab

    00 10 * * * root/scripts/fixsuexeccgiscripts

    You can change the 10 or however you want it... but this would run the script you want each night at 10 past midnight and send the output to you........ if it sends output that is.
    ___________________________________

    I had to add this sorry, you cannot do this in WHM though.. you have to have shell access to your server and follow the above guidelines... and if you don't know how you can study up a bit on it. We all start off wet and naked, but learn from there. :)

    --------------------------
    One more edit .... update server software is /scripts/sysup
    update system software is /scripts/rhlupdate
     
    #13 Shrek, Sep 25, 2006
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2006
  14. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks, someone who gets it out of all these guys!! Jesus, this forum is (sorry to say) the worse forum for any support! I have LOADS better luck on WHT.:rolleyes:
     
  15. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    these forums are other like minded admin's who are running cpanel the help you receive is voluntary.
    if you are going to insult the posters that try to help you no one is going to help you as I said " the help you receive is voluntary"

    quoted by you "I'm not stupid, I know how to do these things" then why are you asking ? no one here will chastise you for not knowing Linux

    setting up a crontab is one of the most basic Linux commands but obviously if you are running your Linux box out of WHM then you "don't know how to do these things"
    Cpanel/WHM is a tool it des not manage a web server as some would believe.


    if you took the time to state your question in plain clear English one time as most of the posters trying to help asked you to do.
    If you looked at what each link did when you clicked them you could have answered your own question.

    /scripts/rhlupdate (which is depreciated which really runs )
    /scripts/rpmup
    /scripts/sysup

    which as stated in my previous post
    you can set both of these in WHM
    update config

    security Package Updates runs /scripts/rpmup
    cPanel Package Updates runs /scripts/sysup


    if you would like to do this via a cronjob manually

    from the command line SSH (root) and add the following lines example times only
    crontab -e

    0 1 * * * /scripts/rpmup
    0 2 * * * /scripts/sysup


    for
    Fix Insecure Permissions (Scripts)

    is coded into cpanels code and can't be ran via cron ( at least I don't think so )

    but this one will work
    /scripts/fixsuexeccgiscripts
    0 3 * * * /scripts/fixsuexeccgiscripts
     
  16. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Maybe if you spoke better english I would understand what your talking about more clear. Seems WHT has people who understand without me having to go in detail. Its in plain English, theres nothing about it thats not hard to understand. If you knew WHM then you would know what I'm talking about. SSH is different, but now I see thats the only way I can do it.

    I wasn't speaking bad or trash about you so I would appreciate it if you wouldn't to me.
     
  17. Shrek

    Shrek Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    This just IN !!!

    If you have WHM Xtra you can edit /etc/crontab (from the 'browser' link), and input all your crons from there.. not using shell at all. :cool:

    Thought I'd throw that in.

    Another thing, for everyone ............... no need to hammer on anyone. It's all a learning curve, not just for the initial person that asked the question but perhaps later when someone does a search. You can have hundreds of people read the same paragraph and ultimately you WILL get different responses, I just lucked out on this because I knew what you were asking from point one, but decided to take you to the logical step of shell,.......... then thought about it later and realized.... YOU CAN do this in WHM but only if you have WHM Xtra.

    That's just my 2 cents.

    We are all learning, and should try to do so, each day.
     
  18. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Like I said, I know how to in SSH, I wanted to know and clearly asked if it can be done in WHM. No need to blow up on me.

    Anyway, thanks for all that helped.
     
Loading...

Share This Page