The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Current mod_security with cPanel how to?

Discussion in 'Security' started by ne0shell, Jun 10, 2010.

1. ne0shell

ne0shell Well-Known Member

Is there an up to date, current how to available somewhere for using mod_security with cPanel? All the one's I've found are a few years old and details things that don't seem to be there anymore (ability to install and enable it via the add-ons section for example).

I managed to get it installed and I think I have some rules enabled but I'm not sure and I'm not receiving any alerts from it so far.

2. santrix

santrix Well-Known Member

Sorry if you are already aware... but life is a bit easier by installing ConfigServer ModSecurity Control

I have been running it for a few months now, and it really takes a lot of the headache out of configuring it. A nice interface, and allows user level granularity for rule dropping.

3. ne0shell

Yes, I installed it but it doesn't help with actually installing mod_security. I simply checked the mod_security box in easyapache but I don't know if that's enough.

I think I have it installed but I'm not seeing any log files or email notifications.

From the configserver plugin, it appears to be installed and has a couple of the basic rules files enabled but I have a strong suspicion it's not completely installed and functioning despite appearing to be.

Why was the cPanel addon for this removed?

4. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter: