The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Custom cPanel Skin Problem..

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by chris8lunch, May 27, 2006.

  1. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Checking Theme integrity......Sorry.. thats not a cpanel theme tarball (logout.html is missing)!

    I get that error everytime, but the logout.html file is there..

    Whats wrong??

    (I didn't even touch that file)
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Is the theme saved as a .tar.gz file and renamed to something.cptheme?
     
  3. tmvnews

    tmvnews Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    that message does also mean more then just logout.html is missing. With cpanel they have default .html files in the root of the skin directory that must be there,

    For Example
    logout.html
    webmaillogin.html

    would be a good idea to also keep the standard of
    stdheader.html
    stdfooter.html

    otherwise you should be fine.
     
  4. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    But I didn't even touch it, I changed ONE IMAGE and it does that!! Please help!
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I seem to remember having that problem a while back, but then I started just working directly. The easiest way to make a modified skin is to copy the current one, then use an FTP program that uses SSH2 and just modify it from there.

    In shell, just copy it:
    cp -a /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/newthemename
    then use SecureFX (vandyke.com) or a free program (I forget the name) to work directly with the new theme.
     
  6. Ishware

    Ishware Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Panama City, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  7. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't know how to use SSH, I want to be able to upload it in WHM.. does anyone know whats wrong???
     
  8. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    /dev/null
    WinSCP - http://www.winscp.com will make life easier for you, log in as root at your hostname and just browse (filezilla will do the same thing but from experience customers prefer winscp)
     
  9. GnomeyNewt

    GnomeyNewt Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    The Stars!
    I like winscp for ssh2, works great.

    I also can recommend just to copy the theme over and than just edit the files after making a new theme via WHM. Less headache.

    But when I did have the same errors, its because I wasn't using the correct compression. You need to make sure the extention on your compressed file is tar.gz
     
  10. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok..

    I don't want to use any SSH-like programs or even SSH! I just want to make changes using my computer..

    Ok I go to WHM, I download cPanel X, I rename it like it says, unzip it, unzip it again then I make some image changes, then I zip it back up into tar and rename it to something.cptheme but I get that same error..

    What am I doing wrong?

    Thnaks.
     
  11. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    It has to be tarred and gzipped.
     
  12. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you mean I have to do this so the file ends up having ".tar.gz" at the end, then I've been doing that, still get the same problems.. :-(
     
  13. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    /dev/null
    sounds like there is a problem with the paths in the archive, when you extract the tar.gz are all of the files in a subfolder or in the root of where you extracted it to?
     
  14. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok I think my problem is that I don't have the right zipping software or something..

    When I zip it up, I can only do it once, when I right click the gzip file it wants to extract and not let me zip it up again..

    Can someone give me a link to a good zip program (free)?

    Thanks!
     
  15. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    /dev/null
    are you actually making a tar gzip archive or zipping it and renaming it?

    If you are zipping it and then renaming it to .tar.gz that will be your problem, I personally use WinAce for archiving but unfortunatly its a commercial program, they do occasionally however release free public beta's that are reasonably stable
     
  16. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No I use "Power ARCHIVER" and it does it for me.. But I end up doing it once...

    So maybe somene can give me a link to a program that will allow me to zip somethig trice.. cause when I right click the file it wants to extract and not zip up again..
     
  17. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    /dev/null
    According to power archiver's website it can read and write .tar.gz so maybe you are doing something wrong when archiving your skin?

    The quickest way you are going to get this skin to work is to manually upload the files to the skin directory, as i mentioned earlier our clients prefer to use winscp, it looks and works like an ftp client so you dont need to know any shell commands
     
  18. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Alright I downloaded cPanel X from WHM and got into a FTP root login and uploaded it and named it to x3

    When I tried it out, everything worked just like cPanel X (I jsut made a copy to see if I could upload it correctly) but Fantastico icon is just an X and when you click it there s no page.

    What am I doing wrong?
     
  19. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    /dev/null
    I don't have fantastico on my servers so I can't be 100% sure of this but I would imagine that the fantastico page is symlinked into the theme, if it is you will need to run a shell command to add it again
     
Loading...

Share This Page