The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Custom Nameservers?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by aaronsam, May 11, 2004.

  1. aaronsam

    aaronsam Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok im trying to setup ns on aaronx.com, i have solacenet.net pointed to ns1/2.aaronx.com (been for about a week) I have tried to get this to work for weeks. Any suggestions

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    There also used to be, in WHM, i deleted it.

    Code:
    aaronx.com.              14400         NS    ns1.gamma.timdorr.com.
    
    aaronx.com.              14400         NS    ns2.gamma.timdorr.com.
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ns1.gamma.timdorr.com in the SOA line should be ns1.aaronx.com
     
  3. aaronsam

    aaronsam Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nope, no luck anymore suggestions? aaronx.com dose not work now, i kept my nameservers on aaronx to the host's ones.
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Let's backup.
    Looks to me like you are trying to assign the same IPs to different name servers. FAIK, not being an expert, that won't work.
    ns1 & ns2.gamma.timdorr.com have already been asssigned 69.93.64.179 & .80
     
  5. aaronsam

    aaronsam Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Then how do i make custom name servers? There are other people on my host that have done this.
     
  6. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have additional IPs available?
    Looks like you already have custom name servers in ns1. and ns2.gamma.timdorr.com?
    To my knowledge if you have additional IPs you can make additional custom servers.
    Someone else might have other input.
     
  7. aaronsam

    aaronsam Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    gamma.timdorr.com is the host's name servers. No other ips are avalable.
     
  8. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should probably check with the other people on your host who have done this and see what their config looks like.
    It is likely that other ways exist to accomplish what you want but I don't have that knowledge.
     
Loading...

Share This Page