The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

customize Roundcube's main.inc.php

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by ozzieonline, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. ozzieonline

    ozzieonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi guys,

    I want to make some configuration adjustments to Roundcube. I want to disable the option for users to add identities and I want the default Spam folder to be assigned to SpamAssassin's Spam Box.

    I think I can make these changes in Roundcube's configuration file main.inc.php which is located in /usr/local/cpanel/base/3rdparty/roundcube/config

    My only concern is... if I make the adjustments and Roundcube gets updated, will my changes get lost?? Does anyone know this? And if they do get lost, does anyone know a way to change the configuration settings without them getting lost if an update takes place?

    Hope anyone can help. Searched the forum and internet but I can't find a solution.
     
    #1 ozzieonline, Dec 27, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,470
    Likes Received:
    198
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. ozzieonline

    ozzieonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Infopro, can you be more specific please? I am able to do Google searches myself, but I can't find an answer to my question.
    What I want to know is:

    1) If I change main.inc.php will it be overwritten whenever an update takes place?
    2) If it will be overwritten, is there another way to make the changes?

    I hope you or someone else can answer my questions.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,470
    Likes Received:
    198
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Scroll to the bottom of the second link, where it says:

    " Preventing cPanel from modifying the Roundcube configuration files "

    If you modify the configuration files and don't want it to be overwritten, I might assume whats in the doc there is what you seek.

    My apologies for taking up your valuable time.
     
  5. ozzieonline

    ozzieonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Infopro, first of all I do appreciate your help, please let that be clear!
    Sometimes it's just a bit frustrating if you can't find what you're looking for while you would expect that other people would have to deal with the same issues.

    Anyhow, I already read the part you are refering to. Unfortunately the file "/var/cpanel/roundcube/install" does not exist on my server. So I don't have a clue what to do :( I would like to make some adjustments to Roundcube, because of the 3 available mailprograms (Roundcube, Horde, Squirrel) I think this one looks best. But if I adjust the configuration settings and they will be overwritten, then I have a problem. Any advice would be very welcome.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,470
    Likes Received:
    198
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    As the instructions state, "if the file exists". It does not exist by default, as you noticed. You'll have to create it (it will be an empty file) and make it executable. All you need to do is add that file to the proper directory, the document explains the rest that will occur if it does in fact, exist.

    System Administration can be pretty much, a self serve business. If you'd like to do something custom, you'll need to learn how to do it. Or at least, learn to read the documentation a bit closer and look for the details right in front of you. Or even, hire someone who knows and can help you achieve what you seek.

    Other System Administrators do have to deal with the same issues of course. The docs explain whats needed, you're not fully grasping what the docs are saying I guess. And/or, the docs could be more specific I think, and actually state that if that file does not exist, you'd need to create it, so that new users can understand it more clearly.

    As you'll note in most all the documentation, and there is a lot of documentation, hence my suggesting searching more, previously, most all of the docs do take some basic understanding of System Administration, going in.

    I think in this case, where it says:
    The "if" and "is executable" are the two key points to make a mental note of along your way to doing what you want to do here.

    Also on that page, is a link to the Roundcube wiki that should also be used for finding out more about using and customizing Roundcube: Roundcube Webmail

    I hope you find this information helpful.
     
  7. ozzieonline

    ozzieonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Infopro! I really appreciate it you take time and effort to help me! It actually reminds me of the old days when I started learning PHP. I felt a bit helpless at first and started asking the more experienced people on a forum for help. And step by step I was learning more and more and I found out how to find information myself instead of asking all the time. Now I'm still on the same forum, and helping other people, just like you do :)

    And indeed sometimes it is hard to find the right solution. I actually have a managed VPS and the hosting company adviced me to disable Roundcoube in WHM and install a new version manually. I am very happy now to read your solution!!!

    So what I have to do is this (please correct me if I'm wrong):

    1) log in (to Putty) as root user and create a file named "install" in the directory "/var/cpanel/roundcube/"

    2) make the file executable (I have to find out how to do that... do you maybe know the command I must type in Putty?)

    And that's all there is to it? Now I'm safe to edit the config file?

    I do still have some questions...

    A) If I do this, does it mean Roundcube doesn't get updated at all?
    B) Documentation says that steps 4-9 will be skipped. Step 1 says "Removes the existing Roundcube installation". Uhh.. does this mean Roundcube is uninstalled? And if so, in which step will it be re-installed?

    Thanks again for your help. Very much appreciated.
     
  8. ozzieonline

    ozzieonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can someone please answer my questions? I would like to configure Roundcube, but I would like an answer to my questions first (see above). Can anyone please help?
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,470
    Likes Received:
    198
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There is no need to contact me via private messages.

    You have nothing to lose by adding the file as the docs explain, modify the Roundcube configuration file however you wish (and make yourself a backup of that configuration file before and afterward so you don't lose any hard work you've put into this so far), and then force a cPanel update.

    Afterward, you'd check that configuration file again to see if your changes are still intact. When you do, you'll have your answer.

    This seems easy enough that you shouldn't have had to wait 5 days now to try it, or send me multiple private messages asking me to get back to this thread to confirm something you could have tried by now on your own, without me.

    Also, before you ask the next question, I have no idea whatsoever if after all of this, the exact changes you're hoping to make to that configuration file, are even possible.


    There is no need to contact me via private messages. Please don't. There are over 140,000 users registered on this forum and well over 100 of those are cPanel Staff. I help out where I can in between all those people.

    Good luck with this. Happy New Year. :)
     
  10. ozzieonline

    ozzieonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for replying and best wishes for you as well.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - customize Roundcube's main
  1. DjKytra
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    489

Share This Page