The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Daily Backup Stopped Working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jonwatson, Nov 16, 2007.

  1. jonwatson

    jonwatson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi All,

    Four days my daily backups stopped working. I have WHM set to do daily backups, but it is not doing them. When I try to run /scripts/cpbackup it tells me that the daily backup is complete, but I can see from the backup directory that this is not true.

    Any idea how to kick start these things?

    Thanks

    Jon
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    /scripts/cpbackup --force &
     
  3. Imago

    Imago Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Still doesn't work

    It keeps saying

    Code:
    Backup is not done today as per whm backup settings at /scripts/cpbackup line 199.
    Which is not trueq because the last backup was 6 days ago, and the settings say backup every day.
     
  4. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Another way to start the backup again is to change the date of the backup directory to an earlier time; Example
    Code:

    Code:
    touch -t 200712100230 daily

    This would change the file date of the directory (daily) to 2007-12-10-0230 ( year/month/day/hour )
     
  5. Imago

    Imago Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Changed the date back to 5th of Dec for all folders in cpbackup, still the result is this

    Backup is not done today as per whm backup settings at /scripts/cpbackup line 199.
     
  6. Imago

    Imago Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Had to comment all this

    Code:
    #if ( $CONF{'BACKUPDAYS'} ne "" ) {
    #    my @BACKUPDAYS = split( /\,/, $CONF{'BACKUPDAYS'} );
    #    my ( $sec, $min, $hour, $mday, $mon, $year, $wday, $yday, $isdst ) = localtime(time);
    #    $backupthisday = 0;
    
    #    foreach (@BACKUPDAYS) {
    #       if ( $wday eq $_ ) {
    #            $backupthisday = 1;
    #        }
    #    }
    
    #    if ( !$backupthisday ) {
    #        die "Backup is not done today as per whm backup settings";
    #    }
    #}
    in /scripts/cpbackup and the backup started

    This however is a temporary solution, just to have some backups

    Any help is appreciated!

    Thank you
     
  7. Fernis

    Fernis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I am also having difficulty with cpbackup.

    I get an email each day when the scripts is suposed to run saying..

    cpbackup running in the background.
    complete log:/usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/1197532801.log



    I am running cPanel Current and RHEL 4 and the latest php and mysql supported by cPanel.
     
  8. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    What version of cPanel are you using?
    Do you have enough free disks pace?
    Does your server have a low load, EG 2 or below?
     
  9. Fernis

    Fernis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Running version

    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-C18420
    REDHAT 4 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0

    I have plenty of free space on the backup and the server load is very low.
     
  10. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You might want to look in the specified logfile. Did you?

    Chances are that the backup has run as normal. It does with us.
     
  11. Fernis

    Fernis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes, the backup does appear to run completely according to the log file. Thank you.

    I wonder why we are still receiving the email? Is this just something that cPanel does now?
     
  12. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I only see this with release versions, not with stable. So I presume it has to with the release packages.
     
  13. sebby

    sebby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello all:

    (running RELEASE tree) On december 12 I started receiving the short version of the cpbackup report as well (path to log file only). Any idea how to receive the actual full cpbackup logs like we use to?

    cheers,

    Seb
     
  14. gflamerich

    gflamerich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same problem here

    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.16.0-R18450
    CENTOS Enterprise 4.5 i686 on virtuozzo - WHM X v3.1.0

    Backups are created and copied to our backup serve via FTP. A log file with the whole backup log is created on every box since Dec 5, but we receive the mails saying "cpbackup running in the background."

    We also use the "Configure cPanel Cron Times" and the mails is generated at the time set here.
     
  15. Bdzzld

    Bdzzld Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This must be a bug (has someone already added it to bugzilla?).
    It's occurring on the following version as well :

    while the date of that log file is of today.
     
  16. sankvas

    sankvas Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah.. its better if we receive a full report rather than a shorter version.
    This is happening in stable releases too.

    Any one fixed the issue. ?
     
  17. stef

    stef Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Belgium
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Same here for me on
    It started after cPanel update on the 14th:
     
  18. gflamerich

    gflamerich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This was an "enhancement" .... (those that cpanel makes and nobody wants .....)

    at the changelog you may see

    Code:
    Release 18404
    2007-12-12 10:36:43
    	
    Fixes:
        Fixed issue with email accounts and pkgacct-da
        Ensure Apache always listens on localhost
        Fixed regex substitution in apache.pm
        Fixed issue with creating subdomain directories when publichtml tweak set
        Kill the entire process group when cpuwatch dies
        Ensure signals can be processed during cpbackup
        Bug 6115: Set SSL vars upon SSL DAV connections
       
    Enhancements:
        Changed ratelimit for acl_connect and acl_notquit to be more aggressive
        Default SMTP timeout lowered
        Added Optimize Web site feature for configuring mod_deflate
        Added logging capabilities to cpbackup
        Added SIGTERM handler to cpbackup
        Merged logrunner into cpuwatch
        cpbackup now runs as a background process

    So, now, if you want to know if the backup was complete, you must login to your box, and open the file ........ (I imagine cpanel included a routine that delete those files? or in a couple of years, you may have thousands of those little creatures around :( ......
     
  19. Imago

    Imago Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    After the update to the last Current, cpbackup stopped again. This is no good. It doesn't react even to --force

    # /scripts/cpbackup --force
    cpbackup running in the background.
    complete log:/usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/1198083603.log

    And the log says it was updated today, while in actual fact nothing happened to to the files in my cpbackup directory, except for changing the timestamp of the subdirs.

    Quick update: I have just noticed that the backup is really working in the background and new tarballs are being updated.
     
    #19 Imago, Dec 19, 2007
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2007
  20. logikstudios

    logikstudios Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys, this is happening to me. However, dont panic you are still having backups done. It runs instantly. Although, it says this, cpanel has kicked the progress into action and although this comes up, it is backuping up. Atleast for me.

    By me recieveing this error (all ready running etc) it suddenly starts the backup progress.

    Also i changed over to my FTP backup servers and it start to backup instantly, as soon as i pressed save backup Config. with out me having to login via ssh and doing /scripts/cpbackup --run.

    Cheers,
    Nathaniel
     
Loading...

Share This Page