Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Danish characters in DNS

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by kimsondergaard, Jun 12, 2018.

  1. kimsondergaard

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vejle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi All

    I am setting up a new nameserver, ns1.example.dk for testing purposes.
    I have transfered a zone file, into var/named, and can now see it in DNS zone editor, and edit it.
    I can do a nslookup from the cpanel main machine, to the server ns1.example.dk, and get the correct answer.

    But when i do a nslookup using another machine, eg. my own PC.
    It says Server can't find domain: refused.

    nslookup somethingærke.dk ns1.example.dk

    Server: ns1.example.dk

    Address: 62.243.xxx.xx#53


    ** server can't find something\195\166rke.dk: REFUSED

    but if i do it using the punycode/ascii code, it works fine.

    Does that sound okay, or have i done something wrong ?
     
    #1 kimsondergaard, Jun 12, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 12, 2018
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @kimsondergaard

    Firstly I want to point out that nslookup is deprecated and has been for some time, instead of using nslookup you may want to look at using dig.

    As for the behavior you're referencing I believe this is expected as I don't think all the punycode is recognized. I checked out the man page for any details but it doesn't appear that they have made any acknowledgments either way.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    kimsondergaard likes this.
  3. kimsondergaard

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vejle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @cPanelLauren

    Thanks for the reply, does the DNS server answer to all requests by default ?
    And therefor it should be working as long as it is possible to connect on port 53 ?

    Or do i have to edit some config, before it will be seen as a valid DNS on the WAN side ?
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @kimsondergaard

    Yes, it should be answering all requests by default unless port 53 is closed. You shouldn't need to change anything. You may want to double check the configuration of firewall if you're unsure.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice