The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Darkorb, instructions to turn off suexec

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AlaskanWolf, Jan 4, 2002.

  1. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    I need instructions on turning this off, it was turned on by default in the layer1 or frontpage layer installs

    I am moving 600 accounts from a cpanel server onto this one and that server does NOT have susexec on, and from what i heard, it will break cpanel if these accts are moved under this current state of
    suexec
     
  2. MichaelShanks

    MichaelShanks Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    simply renameing /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec to another name is meant to disable suexec from starting up.

    anyone agree?
     
  3. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    Just rm -f the suexec binary and reinstall the frontpage rpm
     
  4. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    Nick

    rather then short answers, please helpus in this and give us more information

    I removed the binary, and redownloaded the fp-5.0-upgrade.sea, reran it, but when a new site is created, it shows up as

    #NameVirtualHost 216.218.184.66:80
    <VirtualHost 216.218.184.66>
    ServerAlias www.test.com test.com
    ServerAdmin webmaster@test.com
    DocumentRoot /home/testcom/public_html
    BytesLog domlogs/test.com-bytes_log
    User testcom
    Group testcom
    ServerName www.test.com
    CustomLog domlogs/test.com combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/testcom/public_html/cgi-bin/
    </VirtualHost>


    Can you tell me if suexec is still active or ????
     
  5. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    not surprising...it reappeared...please darkorb, give us clear step by step instructions that work, if i did something wrong, please tell me, because all you said was \"remove the suexec and redownload the frontpage rpm\"

    I couldnt find a rpm, but i could find the .sea file in layer1 downloads......



    oot@sandy [/usr/local/apache/bin]# dir
    ./ ../ ab* apachectl* apxs* dbmmanage* htdigest* htpasswd* httpd* logresolve* rotatelogs* suexec*
     
  6. dzevad

    dzevad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Try this:
    easiest method is if you installed fp-upgrade.sea already you then have directory called that name, go to it and then to apache dir in it. Start apache installation manually, it will ask you what do you want to be installed with apache, just uncheck suexec and continue, it will start with install and install it without suexec, then after it just install front page from same place manually.

    Or this:
    rename suexec in usr/local/apache/bin to something else, and delete/comment out (#) all User Group lines in httpd.conf and restart apache :)

    i must say i have suexec and i\'m not having any problems with it currently....
     

Share This Page