The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

database password

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Maggie, Mar 6, 2004.

  1. Maggie

    Maggie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    How does one go about changing the database password in MySQL Account Maintenance?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: change
     
  2. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    MySQL Account Maintenance ?? as in where ?

    If you want to change a user password for a mysql user, you can do it from WHM -> Change a User or Database Password.
    Choose the user and enter the new password.
     
  3. Maggie

    Maggie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    As in cPanel, under Databases, Manage Mysql, which takes you to the MySQL Account Maintenance screen.
    WHM??
     
  4. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Its the user passwords you want to change. You can do that from inside WHM (Web Host Manager). If you don't have WHM access (i.e. a end user account), then you could contact your admin to do it for you, or either delete the user from the cpanel, recreate it with a new password. I had tried this once and worked for me. Please be carefull while doing this.
     
  5. Maggie

    Maggie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    I have recently changed my password to get into the cPanel interface. What I want to do now is change the password for one of the six MySQL databases that I have. I do not have access to Web Host Manager. I am one of a few who are sharing space.
     
  6. Steve-PWH

    Steve-PWH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    create a new user and assign to that database

    or

    delele old user, recreate and re-assign
     
  7. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    delete old user, recreate with new password. NO NEED TO RE-ASSIGN (atleast i didn't have to do that). Check if it works for you.
     
  8. Steve-PWH

    Steve-PWH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Intersting if thats the case removing a use is not fully removing it
     
  9. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    try what i recommended and post here with results.
     
  10. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    When you assign the user to a db, and on user deletion, the db permissions for that user still stays.
     
  11. Steve-PWH

    Steve-PWH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well thats wrong they should also be removed :(
     
  12. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Well what do you know, time for a bug filling ? I am sure though cpanel guys already know about this.
     
  13. Maggie

    Maggie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    I tried this and my website completely disappeared.
     
  14. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I am sorry but as i said earlier you need to be carefull in these thing. Did you try to reassign the user to the database ?

    Also check in your website, the php / perl script which you are using does it have the correct db username and password ? My guess is its trying to use the old password and can't connect.
     
  15. Maggie

    Maggie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes, I just went back to the old password and my site is back again.

    So as well as
    I should ftp into the files that have passwords in them and change them there as well? Is this what you mean?
     
  16. Steve-PWH

    Steve-PWH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes thats what he means
     
  17. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes ofcourse you need to place the new passwords inside the script you are using.
     
  18. Maggie

    Maggie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Am I correct in assuming that after I have changed the password in the ftp files that require passwords for this one specific database, that I will be able to change the password in cPanel just for the one database. I ask because I have six databases.
     
  19. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    1. Delete the user and recreate with new password.

    2. Change the password for the user in the scripts everywhere in your site and upload those files only and check.

    You can repeat the same process for all the 6 dbs.
     
  20. Maggie

    Maggie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    I only want to change the password for the one database. Is that possible?
     
Loading...

Share This Page