The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Database restore problem

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by mehnihma, Mar 26, 2013.

  1. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi

    I have one problem when trying to restore database with cpanel MySQL backup.
    I create backup from CPanel and then I try to restore that backup with no success.

    When I was on shared hosting this worked normally.

    I choose database to restore and click restore. It uploads database and I get:
    In first row:
    The database (database) already exists!

    After that it continues to execute queries and it stops in the middle of process and doing no changes. just like I have pressed stop in browser.


    I have tried it million times and with different browsers and get same thing.

    In phpmyadmin it works

    Also where can I change upload size of database for phpmyadmin?

    Can you help me with this?
     
  2. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does anyone knows what could be the problem?
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    How large is the database? Have you tried to restore this database via command line? Uploading a large DB via phpMyAdmin is not the best way to go about doing what you want.
     
  4. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No i have not,

    it is 350 MB
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  6. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, but when I try database of 5MB same problem happened?
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I can't answer that. It depends on how the DB was created I would think. Did you back it up properly?

    Does restoring it via the command line work?
     
  8. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    yes
    I have back it up with cpanel mysql backup and I cannot get it back.
    I have tried doing same thing on shared hosting that I have and it works
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hmm, I think there's something in your last comment there. Can you expand on it a bit more?
     
  10. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When I try to restore through command line it works, but with cpanel it does not works.

    I took same test database that I have downloaded from my cpanel and uploaded it to my shared hosting with cpanel and it is working normally.
    Database size is around 5 MB.

    Same database cannot be uploaded on my cpanel. It stops in the middle and that is it.
     
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Whats the difference between the two items I've highlighted in bold?
     
  12. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry about confusion.

    I have server with Cpanel/WHm on which I have this problems.

    On one shared hosting that I have and bought before from other hosting company year ago, and they have same version of Cpanel and there I can restore same database with no problems.

    On my VPS I have this problem.

    Hope this clarifies it.

    Thanks
     
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Almost, but let me prod a bit more if I could. :)

    On your new VPS, you have a new account setup, normally, and are trying to restore this DB to it, correct?
     
  14. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes and no.

    I want to be able to restore like this through cpanel if possible :)

    I both cases:

    1. I create backup from my VPS with cpanel MySQL backup
    2. I cannot restore that backup mysql to my VPS
    3. When I got to other shared hosting and use same backup database and restore it with Cpanel mysql restore, it works.
    4. I create backup from other shared hosting I try to restore it to my VPS Cpanel with mysql cpanel restore, not working
    5. Same file form step 4 works on other shared hosting


    With PHPMyAdmin and ssh it works on my VPS, only Cpanel troubles me

    Thanks
     
  15. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I was afraid of this. That was a yes/no question, not both.


    If you have an actual account on one server and download a backup of a database, and you have an actual account on another server that you want to upload that database to, it should work. I think. Because its not, I think we're missing a small detail here somewhere.

    If your Hosting Provider is of no assistance to you with this, I suggest you open a ticket to cPanel Technical Support. If you do, please post back the ticket ID here in this thread so that I can follow along with it please.

    Thanks.
     
  16. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ticked ID: 3984275
     
Loading...

Share This Page