Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

DB: "information schema" visible to users

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 4u123, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Hi,

    Customer just told me he can see a database called "information schema" containing 17 tables in his phpmyadmin. Could anyone advise on how to fix this ?
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Hi Kenneth,

    If its a system database of some sort then why can all my customers see it in phpmyadmin ?

    Surely the "fix" would be for cpanel to ensure that such system databases cant be seen by regular users ?
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Because:

    1. That database contains meta data necessary for MySQL 5 to function
    2. A MySQL user can only see in that database what he actually has access to
    3. It's not actually a database, but a view
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    168
    ok,

    Can you tell me what a customer would use it for ?
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It depends upon your customer.

    I use it to check the stored procedures I create.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice