The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DB_RUNRECOVERY: Fatal error, run database recovery

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wipl, Nov 21, 2003.

  1. wipl

    wipl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm getting the following errors while trying to rebuild the corrupt rpm from WHM.

    ======================================
    D: rebuilding database /var/lib/rpm into /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.21782
    D: creating directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.21782
    D: opening old database with dbapi 3
    D: opening db environment /var/lib/rpm/Packages joinenv
    rpmdb: fatal region error detected; run recovery
    error: db4 error(-30982) from dbenv->open: DB_RUNRECOVERY: Fatal error, run database recovery
    D: opening db index /var/lib/rpm/Packages rdonly mode=0x0
    error: cannot open Packages index
    D: removing directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.21782
    ======================================

    Can some one help ?
     
  2. kirkvan

    kirkvan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kauai, Hawaii
    Aloha,

    I received the VERY similar error as well today:

    ======================================
    D: rebuilding database /var/lib/rpm into /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.26127
    D: creating directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.26127
    D: opening old database with dbapi 3
    D: opening db environment /var/lib/rpm/Packages joinenv
    rpmdb: fatal region error detected; run recovery
    error: db4 error(-30982) from dbenv->open: DB_RUNRECOVERY: Fatal error, run database recovery
    D: opening db index /var/lib/rpm/Packages rdonly mode=0x0
    error: cannot open Packages index
    D: removing directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.26127
    ======================================

    I could also use some help with resolving this problem.

    Thanks,
    Kirk out.
     
  3. wipl

    wipl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've update the CPanel Support & trying to locate the possible fix. I'll update you over here as soon as I have the fix :)
     
  4. kirkvan

    kirkvan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kauai, Hawaii
    Aloha,

    I don't currently have enough Linux or cPanel expertise to make recommendations to other sysadmins. However, the following just worked for me to resolve this issue:

    rm -f /var/lib/rpm/__db.*
    rpm -rebuilddb

    I hope that helps, and, please proceed at your own risk.

    Best,
    Kirk out.
     
  5. wipl

    wipl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I tried what you suggested...and now while doing
    "rpm -rebuilddb" I get the following error :

    error: db4 error(16) from dbenv->remove: Device or resource busy

    Any idea how to fix this ?
     
  6. kirkvan

    kirkvan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kauai, Hawaii
    Hey,

    Again, be careful following my advice!

    I received that same error--should have mentioned same in my post--and ran...

    rpm -rebuilddb

    ...a second time and it worked.

    I then successfully ran all updates through WHM. Basically, the strategy is to delete the corrupted .db database files and rebuild them.

    Good luck,
    Kirk
     
  7. wipl

    wipl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried it 7 - 8 times...the problem is same :(
     
  8. kirkvan

    kirkvan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kauai, Hawaii
    Greetings,

    That's a drag, for sure. Once cPanel support guides you through fixing the problem, I (and others, I'm sure) would love to know the fix, for future reference.

    Also, there are some top notch sysadmins that peruse this Forum. Can anyone else provide some help?

    Best,
    Kirk
     
  9. Curto

    Curto Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY, USA
    I have this same problem...

    I have removed the db files and tried rebuilding several times and it has not helped.

    this is on a brand new redhat9 + cpanel 8 install.
     
  10. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does anybody knows a fix for this?

    I run
    Red Hat 9
    Cpanel 8
    Completly fresh install.
     
  11. Curto

    Curto Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY, USA
    I had the machine reformatted and a clean install of redhat9 and cpanel 8 put on it... took them 2 goes to get it to install without this error.... still no idea of the fix/cause...:rolleyes:
     
  12. tomsyer

    tomsyer Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello There

    I had this on 6 servers I ordered, I think we allready from same place, in San Fransico California, that datacenter, I dont want to say the name as the price is too good.

    anyone have a good fix so I dont have to wait till monday to fix this last one :(
     
  13. Curto

    Curto Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY, USA
  14. tomsyer

    tomsyer Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    THanks The Directions above resolved it for me
    I did this

    rm -f /var/lib/rpm/__db.*
    rpm -rebuilddb
    rpm -rebuilddb

    Than rebuild RPM DB via Cpanel
    And your good to go
     
  15. Curto

    Curto Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY, USA
    I prefer rpm --vv -rebuilddb so you can see it's actually doing something :)
     
  16. stuartj

    stuartj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hi I found that ive been having this issue alot lately at a number of datacentres, When they deply machines they have the issue the datacentres blame cpanel for this. As i have been told by others cpanel dose not ship a faulty rpm system its the images that these datacentres are using.

    Your find that if you run the rm -rf /whatever for the rpm databases as detailed earlier

    Then rebuild via WHM you should get it working but you may need to uninstall some rpm's basing on your needs etc.

    Stuart
    www.reviewtechnology.net
     
  17. wipl

    wipl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry for updating this ticket so late...I however got my problem resolved by doing ..

    rm -f /var/lib/rpm/__db.*
    rpm -rebuilddb
    rpm -rebuilddb

    Thanks for all help :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page