The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dedicated IP address to Addon domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kailash1, Dec 20, 2007.

  1. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    Is it possible to assign the dedicated IP address to Addon domain?

    Thanks,

    Kailash
     
  2. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    I am not aware of such an option in WHM. However, you can do it manually by editing the DNS zone for the domain, and editing the IP address for the virtual host in httpd.conf.
     
  3. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Thanks Stephen,

    Is it advisable to manually edit httpd.conf?

    Thanks,

    Kailash
     
  4. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    It is quite safe to edit httpd.conf. You should obviously take care to not mess it up ;) In this case, you need make a very simple change: replace one IP address with another. There is not much risk in that.

    PS: Remember to restart Apache (from WHM or in the shell) to have the change take effect.
     
  5. coppershadow

    coppershadow Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Isn't there a local template file that should instead be changed so that his httpd.conf changes don't get overwritten by the next conf file rebuild?
     
  6. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    No, it is not like Exim where the config file is overwritten by cPanel updates and one should rather use the template in WHM. In the case of the Apache configuration, cPanel (WHM) adds lines to httpd.conf only, and never recreates it from scratch. Any changes you make, are left in tact.
     
Loading...

Share This Page