Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Dedicated IP address to Addon domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kailash1, Dec 20, 2007.

  1. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    Is it possible to assign the dedicated IP address to Addon domain?

    Thanks,

    Kailash
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    I am not aware of such an option in WHM. However, you can do it manually by editing the DNS zone for the domain, and editing the IP address for the virtual host in httpd.conf.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Thanks Stephen,

    Is it advisable to manually edit httpd.conf?

    Thanks,

    Kailash
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    It is quite safe to edit httpd.conf. You should obviously take care to not mess it up ;) In this case, you need make a very simple change: replace one IP address with another. There is not much risk in that.

    PS: Remember to restart Apache (from WHM or in the shell) to have the change take effect.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. coppershadow

    coppershadow Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Isn't there a local template file that should instead be changed so that his httpd.conf changes don't get overwritten by the next conf file rebuild?
     
  6. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    No, it is not like Exim where the config file is overwritten by cPanel updates and one should rather use the template in WHM. In the case of the Apache configuration, cPanel (WHM) adds lines to httpd.conf only, and never recreates it from scratch. Any changes you make, are left in tact.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice