The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dedicated server move HOME DEDICATED?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by aboyz, Jun 8, 2007.

  1. aboyz

    aboyz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I don't know if this is possible by cpanel. Right now I'm using cpanel on a dedicated with static external IP. I want to move that to my HOME external static IP. But the problems is that I can't assign an static external IP to the dedicated server at home. Because it is one of those router they gave me. What happen is that assign a LAN ip then do NAT from the external IP to the LAN ip. So I don't know if cpanel support this or not? If so please explain. what I need to do.

    thanks
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The short answer is since our licensing system is IP-based, you will need a static external IP address for your server. I am willing to discuss this in further detail if you email me at sales@cpanel.net :).
     
  3. aboyz

    aboyz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    so no way

    so no way I can have the box with a LAN ip and do NAT? external to the LAN ip?
     
  4. aboyz

    aboyz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nat

    Ok,

    So the cpanel support say I can do this. I will give it a go and get a external IP. Anyone have any experience with this before?

    Running cpanel behind NAT?
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel/WHM is not supported behind NAT. While cPanel/WHM will work behind a NAT if you are careful, such a setup is not supported by our support staff. Any issues arising out of your NAT setup will be outside the realm of support provided by our techs.
     
Loading...

Share This Page