Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED Default error page on main IP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rinchen, Nov 28, 2017.

  1. rinchen

    rinchen Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi
    I am not sure whether I have installed cPanel correctly.

    I am using CentOS 7 on VPS and assigned static ip address on it.

    The issue is that I keep getting the default error page on my main ip address although I can successfully login to WHM and cPanel.

    Is the issue related to configuration of cPanel or something else?

    thank you for help in advance.
     
  2. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Can you check.

    Main IP of server is "shared one" which is supposed to show default page.
    To access domain with IP then add one more IP to server and assign it to domain from WHM > change site IP address. To access web site on shared IP is http://IP-address of server/~cpanelusername.

    Another option is to ssh server and edit apache config and remove first virtual host entry of hostname. But any update to apache will revert changes so best way is add one more IP and assign to site.

    .
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,484
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It's normal to see the default cPanel page when opening the IP address directly in a web browser. You should create new accounts if you'd like to add content that will appear on domain names.

    Thank you.
     
  4. rinchen

    rinchen Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you Michael and Sachin,

    I did created an account however it would not load the HTML file I created to test the page.

    maybe its because of the single IP address I assigned to the server but my dedicated IP for the server should work isn't it? In the mean time I will talk to my boss regarding additional IP address.

    I think my IP assigned to the server is not resolving properly. Could you guide me on that please.
     
  5. rinchen

    rinchen Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I got it figured. I was worried unnecessarily. I was told that default page is the intended page and nothing was wrong there.

    Thanks both.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,484
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    That's correct. Also, you can use "WHM >> Web Template Editor" if you'd like to edit the default page.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page