The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Default Home Directory setting is not used anymore

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by h4f, Oct 6, 2007.

  1. h4f

    h4f Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We have set this setting to /home/www with the first 100 customers their homedir where created there.

    Since a month or so they are created in /home.

    We checked the settings and nothing else was changed, is there an amount of maximal user dirs can be made (expect filesystem limitations) ?
     
  2. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    1. Log into WHM
    2. Click on Basic Cpanel/WHM Setup

    Default Home Directory: /home/www (if that is what you want)
    Home Directory Prefix: <leave this blank>


    If your Home Directory Prefix is set to /home and your Default Home Directory is set to /home/www, this may be the problem.

    The 'Home Directory Prefix' should be empty if you ONLY want sites to be created in the home path specificed in Default Home Directory.

    If everything looks right, you should erase/re-add /home/www as the Default Home Directory and then make sure Home Directory Prefix is blank and then save it again just to be sure.

    Mike
     
  3. Compubuster

    Compubuster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Same issue here .. WHM just ignores the value of "Default Home Directory" and creates new accounts in "/home" !

    I've cleared the "Home Directory Prefix" from WHM and it didn't help.

    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-R17853
    REDHAT Enterprise 3 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0
     
    #3 Compubuster, Nov 5, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2007
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You and anyone else experiencing this issue may wish to submit a support request.
     
  5. Compubuster

    Compubuster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've checked "/etc/wwwacct.conf" and it shows the correct value for the home directory :



    BTW, I've submitted a support request.
     
  6. jasgot

    jasgot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Any resolution to this? It is happening to me on a brand new server with Cpanel 11.
     
  7. hekri

    hekri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Have the same issue in one new server on Centos 5
     
  8. h4f

    h4f Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Do you have 2 seperate file systems?

    In my case I have 2 RAID 1+0
    On one RAID set I have /home/ and the other one is mounted at /home/www cpanel is not able to calculate the free space correctly and sees it (after a while) as full.


    They are working on it, but seeing allot of people using iSCSI en eSATA (or NAS/SAN) solution mounting separate file systems it would be logicall that this should have a high priority.

    Mounting the second file system somewhere else is not a solution because it would break allot of configurations of existent account on it.
     
  9. hekri

    hekri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I also write it bugzilla.


    Its horrible, we have 200 accounts in /home/users and now after update to new stable (15 dec) accounts is creating in /home - horrible situation. cPanel dont do nothing in 3 weeks.
     
  10. hekri

    hekri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I remount nex time sdb to /home/users and restart server, propably you must restart cPanel after home disc remount and now account are created in /home/users
     
  11. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We are testing a design of this functionality as it has long been problematic.
     
Loading...

Share This Page