Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Default Install

Discussion in 'Database Discussion' started by Travis30384, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. Travis30384

    Travis30384 Guest

    I'm going with an unmanaged centOS host, and they have options for cPanel being installed. If I get that installed, will it automatically include mySQL and PHP?
     
  2. thewebhostingdi

    thewebhostingdi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    No. You will have to manually install PHP and MySQL on your server. However, you can request them to install it for you on your server.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Travis30384

    Travis30384 Guest

    So centOS doesn't come with them installed?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,170
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This is incorrect. For more on the steps installing cPanel please check out the coduments located here: Advanced Options: cPanel Pre-Installation

     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Travis30384

    Travis30384 Guest

    So it DOES come with them installed, and if I wanted to install vbulletin on the server, all I'd have to do is use the mySQL wizard to set up the needed database?
     
  6. bigal

    bigal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    If you follow the cpanel installation instructions, you'd have noticed that you only need to install basic CentOS.
    All required services to run cPanel will be installed after you run the cPanel install.
     
  7. Shyam Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ernakulam, Kerala, IN
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Cpanel will include all the necessary services & software (apache,php,mysql,bind,curl..etc) with the installation and you just need to create the database via your cpanel >> phpmyadmin. You can set the privileges for the database and can use the same settings in your vbulletin installation.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. cPanelGregK

    cPanelGregK Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Greetings Travis,

    Once cPanel is installed, you'll have a working Apache/PHP/MySQL setup from which you can login to cPanel and create a database, database user, and assign GRANTS to that user. During your installation, you may find that you need to install some additional PHP modules, which can be done via WHM >> EasyApache, or via SSH at /scripts/easyapache.

    If you have any questions, or need assistance, don't hesitate to ask.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice