The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Default website?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mitt, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. mitt

    mitt Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi All,

    I just migrated to a new WHM/Cpanel server.

    Now when making a web request using mail.anydomainonmyserver.com they all resolve to 1 account in particular??

    The account is just another account in the list of 40 accounts but for some reason all requests made with mail and any other CNAME record resolve to this account.

    Anyone know why? On my old server domains like mail.whatever resolved to an empty account or the actual website of the domain in question.

    thanks!
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Not sure about your old setup, but what happens when you try domain.com/webmail
     
  3. mitt

    mitt Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Works as it should

    requesting domain.com/webmail the server returns the webmail page.. Works the way it should...
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The URL in the address bar, is it of the same domain as the page you requested or that of this one account you mention as having all the web requests for mail.* redirect to?
     
  5. mitt

    mitt Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same

    It's of the same domain requested (not the "default" one showing for mail.whateverdomain)

    Thanks for your help.
     
  6. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Is this correct:

    You have domains example.com and example2.com on the new server;
    if you enter mail.example.com, you get the website for example.com;
    if you enter mail.example2.com, you get the website for example.com

    First, take a peek at the DNS zone for example2.com; what does it show for mail. ?

    Take a peek at the DNS templates; do they hard-code information that shouldn't be hard-coded?
     
  7. mitt

    mitt Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    "You have domains example.com and example2.com on the new server; if you enter mail.example.com, you get the website for example.com; if you enter mail.example2.com, you get the website for example.com"

    Yes this is correct.

    All zones show the following for mail:

    mail 3600 IN CNAME example2.com.


    Looks correct.. same as the old server from what i remember..

    If i look in the httpd.conf, the first domain listed is the one that comes up (using the above example.com is the first domain)..

    Thanks for your help!
     
Loading...

Share This Page