The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Delete DNS problem!!

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by santoshp, May 22, 2006.

  1. santoshp

    santoshp Registered

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i got areseller WHM panel..
    i terminated an account..But i dunno mistakenly i checked the option to keep DNS.

    now i created a account with same details..

    it says DNS already existing (asking me to delete the DNS)
    Account created..
    the account is not listed on the list accounts option

    when i go Delete DNS option i dont see that perticular domain to delete the dns..
    how am i suposed to delete the DNS when its not listen..
    i tried writing it manually n the bozx provided.. it says its not existing//


    i again tried to create a new account.. but it again says that DNS already exists and to delete the DNS..

    please help me to delete the DNS and i crearte the account back..


    regards
    santosh
     
  2. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Make sure the entry of that particular domain is not in /etc/named.conf file. If its there remove it and restart bind.

    Also delete the zone file for the domain at /var/named/domainname.db, if exist.
     
  3. santoshp

    santoshp Registered

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ur answers look satisfiing..but i am sorry that i really dont know how to add and remove the feild u told.. coz i bought a reseller account few days back..

    should i loginto ftp and do it or where exactly should i do it in whm..

    my question sounds silly.. but kindly help..

    santosh
     
  4. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    If you have a Reseller account then you will have to ask your host to look into it.

    You can perform the above steps only if you are a root user and not a reseller. You will have to make those changes by logging to the server as root.
     
  5. santoshp

    santoshp Registered

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply shaker....
    i shall ask my host to do it..
    but that option was cumbersome.. it just put me in a state that i cant do anything..

    anyways thanks again.
    santosh
     
Loading...

Share This Page