The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Delete PureFTP and ProFTP completely.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by altendew, Apr 27, 2006.

  1. altendew

    altendew Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can not find a button to remove PureFTP and ProFTP.

    I want to remove them so I can reinstall them with my own settings.
    How can I delete them?

    Besides manually deleting each file through ssh.

    Thanks,
    Andrew
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    rpm -e "package name.rpm" is the normal way to remove packages on an rpm based system. If you receive any errors regarding dependencies then I would be cautious about uninstalling. Can also do rpm -e --test "package-name".rpm before simply deleting a package.

    rpm --help from the command line will give you all available switches.

    Couldn't say for sure if that will remove all traces from a cPanel install. Likely you will still have some config files in /etc.
     
  3. altendew

    altendew Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is kind of weird.. got these errors


    root@penguin [~/downloads]# rpm -e pure-ftpd-1.0.20-17.tls.i386.rpm
    error: package pure-ftpd-1.0.20-17.tls.i386.rpm is not installed
    root@penguin [~/downloads]# rpm -e proftpd-1.2.10tls-9_linuxprivs_newinit.i386.rpm
    error: package proftpd-1.2.10tls-9_linuxprivs_newinit.i386.rpm is not installed

    I know those are the right packages because I copied it when I ran

    ./ftpup --force
    &
    ./ftpup pure-ftpd --force
     
  4. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Try:

    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep ftp
     
  5. NightStorm

    NightStorm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Instead, try this:

    # rpm -e pure-ftpd
    # rpm -e proftpd
     
  6. altendew

    altendew Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ooh I get it.. I thought you had to do it on the install package.

    Worked great, thank you.
     
  7. altendew

    altendew Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there a way to list all the installed packages?
     
  8. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As webignition posted rpm -qa which you also direct to a file - rpm -qa >packages for instance.
     
  9. altendew

    altendew Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hmm this is what I got..

    tftp-server-0.39-0.EL3.1
    lftp-2.6.3-5
    vsftpd-1.2.1-3E.1
    tftp-0.39-0.EL3.1
    ftp-0.17-17
     
  10. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    If you get that before uninstalling anything, that would indicate that you don't have either PureFTP or ProFTP installed.
     
  11. altendew

    altendew Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The weird thing is that I do have them still.. argh this is a nightmare.
     
  12. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Let's backup a second.

    You did rpm -e pure-ftpd and rpm -e pro-ftpd as NightStorm suggested, right?

    What indication do you have that they are still installed?
     
  13. altendew

    altendew Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    because the ftp server is currently running
     
  14. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Assuming pure-ftpd is running try "service pure-ftpd stop"
     
  15. altendew

    altendew Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have just came to the conclusion that it is impossible to install my own version of pure-ftpd.. it would of BEEN so easy if I could just add users to a mysql database. Work perfect with my PHP scripts.. but it just seems helpless.. its so mest up that my cpanel ftp configuration does not work. Just a big mess.

    I need an expert to-do it for me :)
     
  16. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    One solution might be to configure the CPanel PureFTP installation to run off of another port. Then install your FTP daemon software and set it up to work on the regular FTP ports. You can use a firewall, such as IPtables to block traffic to the CPanel PureFTP installation, so that it is not used. This may not be possible if you are trying to install an RPM based package of PureFTP (or ProFTP) since CPanel will already have one of those installed.

    I suspect that this might be an easier solution, because I think CPanel will automatically try to install the FTP software whenever it does a CPanel Update. So even if you uninstall PureFTP (or ProFTP) they will be re-installed when a CPanel Update begins.

    Again, I'm not sure if this solution would work, but just throwing out another suggestion.
     
  17. altendew

    altendew Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah I want my members to use port 21 though, every user will have his own ftp account generated by my php script. I like the thinking though :)
     
  18. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could switch the CPanel version of the FTP daemon to use a different port (for arguments sake, say port 4294), and then install your FTP daemon to use port 21. You could then block access to port 4294 so that the CPanel FTP daemon isn't accessible.

    Again, I don't know if this would work or not, but I don't think CPanel updates ever mess with the FTP configuration files (unless you reinstall the FTP software), so you should be safe from any issues that you might encounter when you run CPanel updates. Again, this is just a suggestion.
     
  19. altendew

    altendew Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Then what if I created a cron job to check for new ftp users created by cpanel.. just compare it against the other ftp accounts.. then add them to the new one.. then everything would be perfect. haha a lot of work to accomplish what I want.
     
  20. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I still don't see the problem. It looks like you merely want to go to all this effort just so that you can add FTP users via a PHP script.

    I still think the best option in that case would be to find out how and where cPanel stores FTP user details and then set your PHP script to manage the users using the same method instead of using a MySQL database. This would let you manage users via your PHP script and won't break FTP in cPanel.
     
Loading...

Share This Page