Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Delete unneeded DNS entries after taking a server off of a DNS Cluster?

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by Kent Brockman, May 5, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello guys. I noticed that when you detach a server from a DNS Cluster, when you go to Edit DNS screen in WHM it will still show some residual domains of the cluster, and the same happen with the other cluster members, that will show domains from the server you just took off.

    Is this a bug?? Besides that...
    • In the cluster: How can I remove domains that are not part of the cluster anymore?
    • In the detached server: How can I remove domains that are part of the old cluster?

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,331
    Likes Received:
    2,161
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Kent Brockman,

    Do you mind opening a defect report so we can take a closer look to confirm any defects (or unintended consequences) associated with the removal of a name server from an existing DNS cluster? You can post the ticket number here and we'll link this thread to it.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Done! Ticket #12225103
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  4. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Update: the reply was unbelievably unsatisfactory :)

    "The described behavior is not considered a bug, but is just currently the expected behavior when removing a server from a dns cluster."

    I asked this in the ticket and repeat it here: how come is that possible?

    How come leaving external DNS entries on place is the expected behaviour after detaching a server from a cluster? Why would this be the expected behaviour? Cause if I detach a server from a cluster, it's because I no longer need to have those domains in handy. Also, the DNS entries from domains in detached servers should as well be deleted from the machines in the cluster! Why would it not happen like this?

    Also, the described methods to deleted unrelated domains' entries from the detached server, are impractical and dangerous.

    I bet that if you can list the current domains, being those individual ones, parked, subdomains or addons, you should be able to make a list and compare it with the list of dns entries in bind directories in order to delete those which don't belong to the server. Is this possible? I'm sure it is, but I'm not that skilled programmer to code a perfect bash script to perform this. In change, your devs should be. Can you guys write a script doing this and deleting unrelated DNS entries?

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,331
    Likes Received:
    2,161
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Kent Brockman,

    Here are some quotes from one of our Technical Analysts on the support ticket in response to the concern noted in your previous response:

    Additionally, here's the link to the feature request that's open to include this functionality in cPanel & WHM:

    Add a feature to remove residual DNS entries from a server

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice