The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Delete unused/inactive images

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Olle Dahlquist, Aug 15, 2016.

1. Olle Dahlquist

Olle Dahlquist Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello,

My name is Olle Dahlquist and I live in Boden/Sweden - 100 miles south of the Arctic circle.
    Yes, we still have summer and no ice bears on the streets.
    My profession is graphic and web designer since 1994.

My problem is that I have forced to take over a web site made with MySQL, CPanel and WHM.
    This is new to me and I have managed to do some changes.
    Now I see that the images in the Upload-folder takes 130 MB of the 250 MB that is provided by the host. In all 245 MB is used by images and e-mail.
    Now I am looking for a plug-in that can delete all unused and/or inactive images.
    As I look in the sub folders I see all kind of versions of the same images, and I don't know which one to delete.

All help is appreciated and I am sorry if this is a to simple question for you experienced users.

Kind regards,

/Olle Dahlquist

2. cPanelMichael

cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @Olle Dahlquist,

Welcome to the cPanel Forums!

You may find it difficult to sort those files by activity or creation date if you do not have SSH access enabled on the account. You would have to use the File Manager option in cPanel or a FTP client such as FileZilla to manually view and delete the images in that directory. If you do have SSH access, or if your hosting provider will run the command for you, you can recursively list all files in a directory and sort by creation date with a command such as:

Code:
    find /home/example/public_html -printf '%T@ %c %p\n' | sort -k 1n,1 -k 7 | cut -d' ' -f2-