The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Deleted DNS Zone... Help.. how do I fix it..

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by hostserve, Jan 12, 2007.

1. hostserve

hostserve Well-Known Member

Good morning..

I need some advice..

I deleted a DNS zone by accident... when I was trying to update it... :eek: i know... total stupid move... I was clicking too fast.. it was like the 30th zone to be edited..

anyways... so I tried to re-add it cuz i know what it should be more or less.. but the dns editor says it already exists.. but when I try and remove it or edit it the records come up blank.. what do i do to fix this..??

2. gorilla

gorilla Well-Known Member

Have you checked if there is still an entry in named.conf ?

3. hostserve

Hmm.. nope.. I'm a cpanel newbie... :confused: so... we run a cpanel cluster, where should I check on my dns servers on the cluster ..??

4. hostserve

ok... I checked the named.conf file on the cpanel dns cluster and I did a search on the file for the domain name and it did not find the file anywhere...

now what..?? :(

5. hostserve

As some additional info, I also checked /var/named/ for the .db file for the domain and it is missing too..

6. katmai

katmai Well-Known Member

if you have backups enabled, then just restore from the daily backups that zone.

7. rhenderson

rhenderson Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You might also check in the httpd.conf

8. hostserve

....RESOLVED....

For those newbies out there like me that may need some help on this in the future like I did, I'll tell ya how I resolved this issue...

As suggested by Gorilla I checked /etc/named.conf and found that the zone did not exist in named.conf so I then checked /var/named and then looked for the [domainname.com].db file to see if that existed... it didn't...