The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Deleting DNS Zone

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by degreethree, Jun 23, 2004.

  1. degreethree

    degreethree Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    My client recently decided to switch domains. The first was configured through WHM, so my plan was to modify the first account, change the domain name, then add the first domain as a parked domain.

    After the account was modified, I tried to add the parked domain and got the error:
    Sorry, a DNS entry for already exists, please delete it first

    I tried to create a new hosting plan with the first domain name, and got the following error:
    Sorry, that domain is already setup (remove it from httpd.conf?)

    The initial domain name is not listed anywhere in the WHM.

    I found other threads regarding this problem, but could you please explain any processes in step-by-step terms? I am very new to this.

    - Ian
     
    #1 degreethree, Jun 23, 2004
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2004
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Assuming you have root WHM, have you checked under DNS functions to see if a zone for the domain in question still exists?
     
  3. degreethree

    degreethree Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, it does not exist. The name is not under the DNS zones or the parked domains, I have not found it anywhere.
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    And you have checked httpd.conf to see if the entry still exists?
     
  5. degreethree

    degreethree Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I wanted to do that but I do not know how
     
  6. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    First a suggestion about editing any system files via root access. Make (mkdir) yourself a backup/ folder in your root directory. Before editing do a copy (cp) of that file to your backup directory like this cp "filename" ~/backup.
    Now go to /usr/local/apache/conf and you will see the httpd.conf file. You can use pico to edit the file or vi. After you make any changes to the file do a "httpd stop" and then a "httpd start". Make note of any errors.
     
  7. degreethree

    degreethree Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do I get to the apache shell to run the commands?

    I am a reseller, so I do not have direct access to the server, all I have is WHM. Is it possible to make the modifications through that?
     
  8. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    AFAIK you can't. Does your host offer SSH on request? Some do.
     
  9. degreethree

    degreethree Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes, should I ask for access?
     
  10. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you want to edit system files that is probably your only choice unless your host's tech support will do it for you.
     
  11. degreethree

    degreethree Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay, I will see what I can do, I will be back with their reply.
     
  12. degreethree

    degreethree Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    They deleted the DNS zone, now I have the domains straightened out.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page