Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

deleting files on a cronjob

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alankru, Mar 22, 2006.

1. alankru

alankru Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi
    I would like a shell script which I can run via cron to:
    1. restore a mysql database
    2. delete a load of files
    3. copy a load of files from elsewhere
    I believe the best way todo this is to create a shell script and then call it from cron? I am a newbie though I'm afraid and creating shell scripts is something I don't know how todo. :eek:

Effectively, this is what I want:

1. Restore mysql database file "/home/akwsdemo/akwsdemo_forum.sql" to database "akwsdemo_forum" using mysql user "akwsdemo_forumer".

2. Remove all files in the following folders (but not the folders themselves):
    /home/akwsdemo/public_html/mkportal/blog
    /home/akwsdemo/public_html/mkportal/blog/images
    /home/akwsdemo/public_html/mkportal/modules/downloads/file
    /home/akwsdemo/public_html/mkportal/modules/gallery/album
    /home/akwsdemo/public_html/mkportal/modules/reviews/images
    /home/akwsdemo/public_html/forum/uploads

3. Copy the following files to the following directories:
    /home/akwsdemo/mkportal.bak/index.html -> to -> /home/akwsdemo/public_html/mkportal/blog
    /home/akwsdemo/mkportal.bak/tpl_blog.html -> to -> /home/akwsdemo/public_html/mkportal/blog
    /home/akwsdemo/mkportal.bak/index.html -> to -> /home/akwsdemo/public_html/mkportal/blog/images
    /home/akwsdemo/mkportal.bak/tmp -> to -> /home/akwsdemo/public_html/mkportal/modules/downloads/file
    /home/akwsdemo/mkportal.bak/a_no_image.gif -> to -> /home/akwsdemo/public_html/mkportal/modules/gallery/album
    /home/akwsdemo/mkportal.bak/a_no_image.gif -> to -> /home/akwsdemo/public_html/mkportal/modules/reviews/images