The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Deleting files via FTP ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DLL_4ever, Mar 29, 2005.

  1. DLL_4ever

    DLL_4ever Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Can of Ada
    I'm new with cpanel so i dont know too much ... How do i, and where do i go, to delete files via FTP or SSH ... I have about 12MB above my storage limit :rolleyes: I tried deleting the files from the File Manager but i dont have permission to because im over the storage limit .. i have to delete files first ... but i dont know how, so i emailed someone from cpanel and he said: "You'll need to delete the files via FTP, ssh, or some other method."

    I have no idea really what hes talking about so if any of you could explain it to me that would be greatly appreciated :)

    BTW. Im VERY new with cPanel so please explain it as easy as possible :)

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Here is a simple free FTP program.
    http://www.download.com/Leech-FTP/3000-2356_4-10122208.html?tag=lst-0-4

    Just download, install, add an account using your domain, username and password, and connect.

    There are many programs out there, but this is the first one I ever used and liked. Many of the others are too complicated for people who haven't used an FTP program before.



    You may want to reupload your avatar. It's scrambled from the recent forum update.
     
  3. DLL_4ever

    DLL_4ever Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Can of Ada
    I downloaded it ... and it seems pretty easy ... but it has a problem connecting ?
    I go to File .. click Connect .. I type in the URL, the port number, username, and password.. then i press Enter ... i wait for like 3 minutes ... and then it says that it cant connect ... well, this is what it says exactly:

    ~ URL Snatcher activated
    ~ Connecting...
    ~ Connected to www.studio409.ca, waiting for response...
    ! Socket Error: operation timed out or aborted
    ~ Could not login to www.studio409.ca
    ~ Connecting...
    ~ Connected to www.studio409.ca, waiting for response...

    I've tried it a hundred times and it doesnt work ... i even tried putting in the url of the File Manager, and that didnt work ...

    What am i doing wrong.. or.. what am i not doing that im supposed to do?

    TIA - Thanks In Advance.
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    What port are you putting in? 21?
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    When you bring up "connect to" check the "connection settings" tab. By default it's set to use a proxy server. Uncheck that.
     
  6. DLL_4ever

    DLL_4ever Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Can of Ada
    dgbaker> Im putting in 2082 .. it actually does that automatically when i type in the URL

    squirrel> I did that, and nothing has changed. I still get the same message.

    "~ URL Snatcher activated
    ~ Connecting...
    ~ Connected to www.studio409.ca, waiting for response...
    ! Socket Error: operation timed out or aborted
    ~ Could not login to www.studio409.ca
    ~ Connecting...
    ~ Connected to www.studio409.ca, waiting for response..."
     
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    The port has to be 21. 2082 is for cpanel access.
     
  8. DLL_4ever

    DLL_4ever Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Can of Ada
    Perfect! :D .. Thanks a lot guys :D
     
  9. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    You still need to reupload your avatar. It's scrambled. May not look like it to you, mine didn't to me, but it is. A forum upgrade messed up most avatars.
     
Loading...

Share This Page