SOLVED Deleting Horde emails

Laurierend

Registered
Feb 15, 2021
3
0
1
Canada
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Samsung Galaxy 8, Google Chrome. When I delete an email, the subject heading stays in the inbox display, with a strikethrough added (and I can still open the email). This clutters my inbox and makes it hard to find emails I actually want to keep. I want deleted emails to disappear.

I've been unable to follow the instructions I found online. I can't switch to Roundcube because the sidebar obscures the subject line. Thank you.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
9,904
1,542
313
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hey there! Once you're logged into Horde, click the "Preferences" gear wheel and choose the Mail option. Then under the "Messages" area click the "Deleting and Moving Messages" option. You can then check the "Move deleted messages to your Trash mailbox instead of marking them as deleted in the current mailbox?" option and save the setting, and from that point on that will be the default behavior for that user's interface.

For messages that you've already deleted, you can click the "other" menu and choose the Purge Deleted option.

Let me know if that helps!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Laurierend

Laurierend

Registered
Feb 15, 2021
3
0
1
Canada
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Hello, and thank you. I'm using Bluehost. I can access Bluehost webmail via the Internet or cPanel, but I don't know how to sign in to Horde itself. I've signed out of webmail and in again, and I've clicked on everything I see. There's nothing about signing in to Horde (in fact no mention of Horde), and no preferences, gear wheel, etc.
 

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
9,904
1,542
313
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Thanks for the additional details. If you're not accessing the mail through port 2096 on your cPanel machine, this is likely a system controlled directly by Bluehost, so you may not be able to make that change to the system.

If you let me know the URL you are using to access webmail (just remove the domain name or IP address for privacy) I can confirm this for you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Laurierend

Macs R We

Active Member
Mar 17, 2015
31
6
58
Arizona
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I'm going to chime in here...

I ran into the problem tonight that there is no more "purge deleted" control in Horde (Groupware 5.2.22).

Yes, I can see the setting for "Deleting and Moving Messages" -- but that takes effect only when you are using the Horde UI. The mailbox in question is accessed mainly through a mail client on a laptop. When the owner deletes a message, it goes into this "strikethrough" state regardless of how "Deleting and Moving Messages" is set up. I understand this, and agree it's working properly. The user has the option on her end of choosing "Erase deleted items in all accounts" in her mail client, which would get rid of these phantom entries, but she just never uses it. As a result, I (as administrator) occasionally scan the mailboxes and run Purge Deleted to remove them... or at least I did, until Purge Deleted disappeared.

There is apparently no Purge Deleted control I can find in Roundcube, either.

It would be nice to get this functionality back.
 

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
9,904
1,542
313
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
In order for the "Purge Deleted" option to show up, you have to enable the following option inside the "Deleting and Moving Messages" area

"Move deleted messages to your Trash mailbox instead of marking them as deleted in the current mailbox?"

That will keep them from showing up with the strikethrough and then you'll see the purge option displayed. Here's a screenshot showing this:

Screen Shot 2022-02-21 at 9.51.28 AM.png

It's not *exactly* the old Purge Deleted option, but it's the closest I'm seeing at this time, and it can also be automated so you don't need to perform the checks like you mentioned.
 

Macs R We

Active Member
Mar 17, 2015
31
6
58
Arizona
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I'm already set up that way, except for having chosen "daily" instead of "never," which I would assume would clean even more thoroughly, yet nothing is getting deleted. If I have to say "never," please help me understand why.

Screen Shot 2022-02-21 at 10.50.01 AM.jpgScreen Shot 2022-02-21 at 10.54.22 AM.jpg
 

Macs R We

Active Member
Mar 17, 2015
31
6
58
Arizona
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I've opened ticket 94418777.

I received an email:

Code:
Your ticket submission to cPanel is not complete. Please go to the "Update Server Information" page by clicking 
      the link below to complete the ticket submission.
https://support.cpanel.net/hc/en-us/requests/94418777
After filling out the information, hit the "Save & Close" button at the bottom of the page.

Frustratingly, there is no information to fill in there, and no "Save & Close" button, just "Add to conversation."
 

Macs R We

Active Member
Mar 17, 2015
31
6
58
Arizona
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
It turns out that when you turn on "Move deleted messages to your Trash mailbox instead of marking them as deleted in the current mailbox?" it removes the Purge Deleted choice from the Options menu.

This makes perfect sense if you are an individual user who always uses the Horde UI to process his mail; but it doesn't make sense for the "primary user" who for administrative reasons may need to clean up the mailboxes of other individual users who use mail clients native to their own computers.

Turning off this option for the primary user returned that choice to the Options menu.
 
  • Like
Reactions: cPRex and Spirogg