Deleting the old website

veramsilva

Registered
Mar 8, 2021
4
0
1
Lisboa
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Hi everyone,

I'm new here and to be honest, not so much of a big expert... but trying to get my way around.
I'm trying to migrate a new website into a cpanel account. I normally use the duplicator plugin for wordpress because it's super easy and intuitive, but this time I guess I'm missing something.

So, i start by deleting the public_html folder of the cpanel account in order to delete the current website.
Then, i moved to the mysql databases do delete the database, but for my surprise, there's none (that's a new for me).
So i just assume all is done and i'm ready to upload into the public_html the zip with my new website and the installer.php file.

But, unfortunately, instead being able to access the installer file when i go into the domain page, i just see a 403 error page.

"You don't have permission to access this resource.

Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request."


My question is:
Is the cpanel somehow locked? How can i unlock it?

Thank you all for your help.
 

kodeslogic

Well-Known Member
Apr 26, 2020
260
85
103
IN
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
As your profile says you have cPanel Access Level: website owner so I assume you are using the shared hosting. If this is correct I suggest you conatct your hosting provider, they will be able to quickly check logs and can tell you what is causing the issue or they can also fix the issue for you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: cPRex

veramsilva

Registered
Mar 8, 2021
4
0
1
Lisboa
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Hey! Thank you for your help.

They say they correct a problem regarding the permissions and now instead of the 403 I can actually see the public_html directory, but when i click on the installer.php, there's an error 500. They are extremely slow to come up to us regarding the issue. Does anyone have a guess?
 

Attachments

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
4,879
602
273
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Thanks for the additional details. You should see details in the cPanel >> Errors section of the interface for a 500 error, and hopefully that would give you more details on the problem. However, it's possible it is something you can't solve on your side, such as a ModSecurity issue, and you'd still need the host's intervention to fix the issue.
 

veramsilva

Registered
Mar 8, 2021
4
0
1
Lisboa
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Hey, thank you.
An erro such as :
[Tue Mar 09 16:52:17.808658 2021] [cgi:error] [pid 1493390] [client 84.91.204.67:0] AH02812: attempt to invoke directory as script: /home/gcconsul/public_html/cgi-bin/

Would be fixable on my side or on the host side? Sorry for the amateur questions.
 

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
4,879
602
273
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
No worries about asking questions - that's exactly what the forum is for!

Do you have any portion of your site in the cgi-bin directory? This sounds like an issue with the way the site may be designed if you're seeing that error.
 

veramsilva

Registered
Mar 8, 2021
4
0
1
Lisboa
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
No, I dont' think that would be the case. I've uploaded the same files to another cpanel in a different host and all works fine. We're able to migrate the website just by uploading the zip and the installer.php, access the directory and running it. All works fine. Just strangely I'm facing these issues.

Could there be another reason behind it?
 

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
4,879
602
273
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I don't have much else I can recommend as you don't have much access to the server logs. This seems like it would be something that is quick for the host to check if you have a way to contact them. With the earlier issues you provided in the screenshot, it sounds like there may be other underlying issues with that account's configuration that need to get resolved at the host's level.