GoWilkes

Well-Known Member
Sep 26, 2006
495
12
168
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
After I've disabled Urchin for an account, is it safe to just delete the entire /tmp/urchin/ directory?

Some of my accounts are using a lot of space up with Urchin but don't even use it, so I want to delete it from their accounts, but I don't want it to impact those users that do use it or prevent them from turning it back on should they change their minds in the future.
 

GoWilkes

Well-Known Member
Sep 26, 2006
495
12
168
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I think some of you will appreciate this rather huge coincidence.

I posted this original thread exactly 1 year ago today, but no one replied. Today, I came across the same dilemma, and came here to search and see if the question had been answered when, lo and behold, I came across this old thread.

What are the odds, seriously, that I would have the exact same question, exactly 1 year later???

Anyway, if you know the answer, I would still appreciate the insight :)
 

urchinsoftware

Registered
Feb 8, 2009
2
0
51
Scottsdale, AZ
Wow -- Urchin was installed in /tmp/urchin/? The default is /usr/local/urchin/

Anyway, if you don't want to use Urchin you can reclaim the space by deleting the files. Just make sure you run "/path-to-urchin-dir/bin/urchinctl stop" beforehand, and remove any urchinctl references from your inittab.