The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Delimiter used in FTP virtual usernames is invalid as per W3C spec

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by halr9000, Mar 11, 2005.

  1. halr9000

    halr9000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just created a bugzilla for this, but I thought it'd make sense to raise this in the forum in case anyone else has run across it. What do you guys think? How responsive is cPanel to bugs usually?

    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=2209
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It ought to be possible with proftpd, but don't know how easy it would be with pure-ftpd. It would probably mean duplicating all the account information to add another account format.

    It depends whether the amount of work is worth it compared to the actual need. Since you can no longer use that format in IE, it makes it a moot point for the average 95%+ of users.

    Another consideration, is that so long as it's meeting the ftp RFC requirements, then they are meeting their obligation. Using FTP in browsers is after all a pretty nasty cludge.
     
    #2 chirpy, Mar 11, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2005
  3. halr9000

    halr9000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, while browsers make crappy ftp clients, the ftp-url scheme is just as old as the http one. It was included in the beginning, see rfc1738, circie 1994. I just tried wading through rfc959 (ftp) but it's REALLY dry and I got bored. :) I'm not certain that it mentions what qualifies as a username, though. But we know what is *not* allowed in a uri-spec.

    But anyway, who said I was using a browser? I'm actually trying to host an open-source software project's code repository. I was going to install Subversion on my box, but its apache module requires apache2. Then I found arch which doesn't require any server-side stuff at all, just an ftp server. But, you guessed it, it uses the FTP URI spec on its command-line.

    http://subversion.tigris.org/
    http://www.gnu.org/software/gnu-arch/

    I'm open to any tips on hosting an RCS package on cpanel, but I still feel this is a bug.
     
Loading...

Share This Page