The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Desperate for help on weird DNS zone problem

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Ganga, Nov 17, 2004.

  1. Ganga

    Ganga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello everyone, please help me ASAP if you can.

    I have a weird problem with DNS zones, it would appear to me that everything is configured correctly but somehow it must not be.

    I have two domains configured (I have xxd some characters because of privacy).

    At the registrar the second domain is configured to have unique nameservers such as

    ns1.DOMAIN1.IT
    ns2.DOMAIN1.IT

    because my domain 1 customer doesn't want to reveal they are my resellers.

    However, domain 2 is not reachable, pingable or contactable in any way shape or form.

    These are the DNS ZONES for BOTH domains

    DOMAIN 1:

    DOMAIN 2 (THE ONE WHICH IS DOWN)


    Many thanks to any generous helping souls out there.

    Needless to say, bind has been restarted several times and no other domain on the server has problems at all.

    I have also added two more rows such as

    ns1 A IP address 1st virtual ns
    ns2 A IP address 2nd virtual ns

    to domain 1 restarted bind again with no effect.

    Thanks again!
     
    #1 Ganga, Nov 17, 2004
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2004
  2. Ganga

    Ganga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry I do not frankly see why knowing what the domains involved are would help....

    Isn't DNS a generalized topic applicable to all domains?
     
  3. Ganga

    Ganga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I guess that's what they call helping spirit, isn't it?

    No comment...
     
  4. Ganga

    Ganga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Perhaps YOU failed to explain why I would have to disclose domain details (see above) to which you answered quite rudely...

    That's where I'm going to stop.

    Please remember polite questions should deserve polite answers.

    I don't frankly think that was the case in your instance.


    In fact, the solution to the problem was very simple:

    All you had to say was:

    replace ns1 with ns1.jamxxx.it and ns2 with ns2.jamxxx.it in the DNS zone of domain jamxxx.it and restart bind


    There you go... I have just proved my point: details of the domains WERE NOT needed at all!

    It would have been nice, rather than sweat for 4 days to have actually received some nice help as I politely requested, but never mind...
     
    #4 Ganga, Nov 20, 2004
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2004
  5. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Why make it harder for people who might help you, to help you?


    Did you edit the info in the original problem post... That doesn't seem at all obvious from the info you originally posted (actually I don't see it there at all, that's why I was wondering if you edited it to be correct?). If we'd had the original domains, we could have run some tests on it to find out the problem.

    *shrug* Well, you made it too hard for anyone to help you... and since you weren't paying anyone to help, it wasn't at all worth anyone's while to get over your intentional hurdles, and hence, no one helped. See, it's cause = effect. Rarely, someone might help despite all that, (maybe they have too much time on their hands), but looking at it now, I don't think it was at all possible to help you because of the information you withheld.
     
  6. Ganga

    Ganga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That's all I needed to be told then a few days back rather than be treated with rude answers!!! Would you not agree?

    Thanks for your help and standpoint that clarified the issue.

    P.S.: The original post was edited on the day I posted because I made some typos.... an my posts are all there intact, whilst someone else......
     
    #6 Ganga, Nov 21, 2004
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2004
Loading...

Share This Page