Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Detected 1 process that is running outdated executables

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by popeye, Oct 23, 2017.

  1. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't really understand all this below honest. People use kernel care and so on to save on reboots and then you get things like that you can restart from ssh one by one which takes fo ever or reboot the server ? so what's the point of kernel care and others like this.

    Detected 1 process that is running outdated executables: 684
    You must take one of the following actions to ensure the system is up-to-date:
    Restart the listed process.
    Reboot the server.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,517
    Likes Received:
    425
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You don't mention the exact executable in your post. If it's EXIM, which I just had come up similarly, I restarted EXIM from:
    WebHost Manager »Restart Services »Mail Server (Exim)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,775
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    343
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You'll have to find out what process is attached to that PID.

    Run:

    ps aux | awk '$2 ~ /^684$/'

    From root's shell
     
  4. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi that command give me this result

    684 0.0 0.1 559272 2460 ? Ssl Oct22 0:02 /usr/sbin/Netwo rkManager --no-daemon
     
  5. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How can i check which one it is ?
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,517
    Likes Received:
    425
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I ran the Security Advisor and it told me, as I recall.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    it gives you a number

    Detected 1 process that is running outdated executables: 684
     
  8. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,775
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    343
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is this a CentOS 7 server? Does cPanel on CentOS 7 use CentOS's Network Manager for managing network interfaces?

    It would seem that you would need to restart your network, but I do not know how to advise you on how to do this. My experience with CentOS 7 is very limited.
     
  9. Havri

    Havri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You could try the following, although you will have to do it on your own risk, depending on your setup:

    Code:
    systemctl status NetworkManager.service
    systemctl restart NetworkManager.service
    systemctl status NetworkManager.service
    First I would check the status to see if it's running and if everything's ok, then I would restart the service and ultimately check again if it's restarted correctly.

    Let me know if it worked.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,197
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry only just seen these replies never got an email for some reason.

    I rebooted one of my servers last night and tonight again it says Detected 128 processes that are running outdated executables: surely this is can't be right and i have to reboot again.
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,197
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have in the past they just told to restart them manually or reboot. but to resart each one is ridiculous
     
  14. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I rebooted that server last night and tonight after cPanel update i have another 97 this is ridiculous

    Detected 97 processes that are running outdated executables

    Also another one that i rebooted 2 days ago now says 1,443 outdated
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,197
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Was the ticket opened for the same issue (the detection of several new processes requiring a reboot on a nightly basis)? If so, could you let us know the ticket number so we can take a closer look?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    I can't because of the 90 limit on tickets
     
  17. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,197
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Could you open a new ticket and note that it's producing a new warning every night even after rebooting the system?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry no after a reboot the warnings go, but i can't keep rebooting the server surely.
     
  19. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,197
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm referring to the reappearance of the warnings on a nightly basis. EX:

    Day 1 - Detected 97 processes that are running outdated executables
    Day 1 - Reboot
    Day 1 - No processes detected
    Day 2 - Detected 97 processes that are running outdated executables

    Is that's what is happening on your system? If so, could you open a ticket so we can take a closer look?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes i just checked site advisor now and it says Detected 97 processes that are running outdated executables since my last reboot a few days ago.

    I don't think it's every night and i would think it depends on what's updated.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice