The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Development website

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Fyrebaugh, Apr 12, 2013.

1. Fyrebaugh

Fyrebaugh Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, I'm stepping into a new job here and this is my first time working with a cPanel server. So let me apologize straight up for any common practice that I may not know about.

This company has an existing cPanel CentOS server, with many domains and accounts already setup, but I have a customer who has an old PHP site that they want to update. I've created them a new account on the cPanel server, since their old site is not being handled on cPanel. I've created an A record with ftp2 pointing to the IP of the cPanel server, and a ww2 as well, I've tried both A record and CNAME for the ww2, but the website will not come up after getting all the files in the webspace.

FTP works by IP, but not by ftp2.domainname.com, and when we go to the website, we get the default website: "If you feel you have reached this page in error, please contact the web site owner:." I've setup the site on our DNS servers, pinging the site resolves to the correct IP, and if we ping thewww(dot)domainname(dot)com, we get the old IP and the old site loads correctly.

We have confirmed that an index.html is in the hidden www directory, the public_html directory, and we even created a public_html/www directory and put an index.html in there, still getting the default webpage. I have logged in as the user in user control panel and confirmed that the default folder is public_html.

Since I do not want to change the location and DNS for the original site, until the new site is up and working, I don't want to change the nameservers, so I'm not sure how to procede. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

#1 Fyrebaugh, Apr 12, 2013