The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dialtone dedicated

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dzevad, Feb 14, 2002.

  1. dzevad

    dzevad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just got dedicated at dialtone.com with Red Hat 7.1 kernel 2.4.16PIII, and partitioning as follows:

    swap 500 MB
    /boot 100 MB
    /tmp 100 MB
    / 16 GB

    How can I check if it's a &server install& as required for cpanel?
    Is this good base for cpanel or should I ask for Red Hat 7.2 with ext3 or change anything else?

    Anyone knows if cpanel works with dialtone's version of Red Hat 6.2, i found a thread where Nick says it doesn't work with ver. 6.1. I'm just asking this cause I could get chilli asp and miva empressa for free with their version of linux (they also advertise it as smaller, more secure, faster and stronger).

    Thanks,
    Dzevad Durakovic
     
  2. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:52c2fce960][i:52c2fce960]Originally posted by dzevad[/i:52c2fce960]

    I just got dedicated at dialtone.com with Red Hat 7.1 kernel 2.4.16PIII, and partitioning as follows:

    swap 500 MB
    /boot 100 MB
    /tmp 100 MB
    / 16 GB

    How can I check if it's a &server install& as required for cpanel?
    Is this good base for cpanel or should I ask for Red Hat 7.2 with ext3 or change anything else?

    Anyone knows if cpanel works with dialtone's version of Red Hat 6.2, i found a thread where Nick says it doesn't work with ver. 6.1. I'm just asking this cause I could get chilli asp and miva empressa for free with their version of linux (they also advertise it as smaller, more secure, faster and stronger).

    Thanks,
    Dzevad Durakovic[/quote:52c2fce960]

    Cpanel can be made to work with Dialtone's 6.2, however it has to be installed somewhat manually.

    The recommended partition scheme is for any cpanel install

    /boot 35 Meg
    / 1500 Meg
    /var 2048 Meg
    /usr 2048 Meg (more if you have lots of domains)
    /tmp 1024 meg
    swap 1024 meg
    /home grow to fill the rest of the space
     
  3. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    #swap 500 MB
    #/boot 100 MB
    #/tmp 100 MB
    #/16 GB


    If they will reinstall the machine i would recommend rh7.2 and a new partitioning scheme.

    have them split the drive into these sections

    swap
    /boot
    /
    /usr
    /var
    /tmp (if you want this one it's your choice, we don't do it here)
     
  4. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    Blah, nick you got to it first :p
     
  5. dzevad

    dzevad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Should I ask for ext2 or ext3?

    Nick does it require a lot of work to setup cpanel on dialtone's RH 6.2 or just few tricks?

    P.S. how do I check if installed RH is server install?

    Thanks a lot people :)
     
  6. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Definitely get ext3 ..... it's compatible / safer / faster / fsck time is nearly nonexistant compared to before.

    redhat type- what do you have in
    /etc/redhat-release ?
     
  7. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Actually, I've been going back and forth with Dialtone on replacing my current DNS server with them and they won't install Redhat 7.1 -- only 6.1 or 6.2. Their reasoning was that 7.1 wasn't &stable& yet.
     
  8. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That isn't a reputable company you are dealing with then.
    7.1 not stable = laughable.

    If they know what they are doing with linux and security they can install 7.1 without fear.
    7.2? you can still have some reservations about.
    but not 7.1
     
  9. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    Ya i agree with feanor, Somthing sounds fishy, This kinda reminds me of CIHost. Not to bash or anything but, we used to resell for them a while back when we first got started but they would allways give us RH 5.1 servers. Basically the reason for this was that they had sombody custom edit it so that it would work their control panel and hidden management stuff. God, i remember all the crap we went thru with them. Glad we have our own NOC now!!!

    So far i have had no problems with RH7.2, infact ext3 is great and it seams to be stable.
     
  10. dzevad

    dzevad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Curious they asked me about OS and I told them I'm not sure but probably RH 7.1, they suggested their version but I said I prefer RH 7.1 and no questions asked. I paid by wire transfer on tuesday and I didn't expect money to come before end of next week, but this morrning I got email that my server was setup, so I'll ask for them to reinstall RH 7.2 with ext3.

    Red Hat Linux release 7.1 it doesn't says if it's server or WS install, but anyway I'll ask for 7.2 server.

    Thanks for help everybody.

    Dzevad
     
  11. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    I dont see why any host out their would ever do a work station install but i could see them doing a custom install. Make sure you tell them that you want a Server install with the Clasic X window's Un checked (for some reason RH7.2 auto checks this.)
     
  12. dzevad

    dzevad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hm that's very good point :) i didn't even think about it.

    Dzevad
     
  13. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:c1e32ffb15][i:c1e32ffb15]Originally posted by shaun[/i:c1e32ffb15]

    I dont see why any host out their would ever do a work station install but i could see them doing a custom install. Make sure you tell them that you want a Server install with the Clasic X window's Un checked (for some reason RH7.2 auto checks this.)

    [/quote:c1e32ffb15]

    I can't begin to tell you how many times someone will order and external license and install redhat as a workstation or do a custom install with X and gnome and kde.... not to mention when they complain that cpanel won't install ....
     
  14. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    [quote:38e664f8d1][i:38e664f8d1]Originally posted by dzevad[/i:38e664f8d1]

    Curious they asked me about OS and I told them I'm not sure but probably RH 7.1, they suggested their version but I said I prefer RH 7.1 and no questions asked. I paid by wire transfer on tuesday and I didn't expect money to come before end of next week, but this morrning I got email that my server was setup, so I'll ask for them to reinstall RH 7.2 with ext3.

    Red Hat Linux release 7.1 it doesn't says if it's server or WS install, but anyway I'll ask for 7.2 server.

    Thanks for help everybody.

    Dzevad[/quote:38e664f8d1]

    Dzevad,
    what kernel did they install on your machine? When they delivered my machine with Redhat 6.2 they installed the 2.4.18 kernel. When I asked them to re-install the machine with Redhat 7.2 they installed the 2.4.16PIII kernel and said if I want the 2.4.18 kernel I would have to pay for a custom build. Is this what you experienced?
     
  15. dzevad

    dzevad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I also got 2.4.16PIII with my RH 7.2, when I asked about 2.4.18 they told me that this kernel is safe and secure to use and that if I want 2.4.18 I would have to pay extra. In mean time I got Goldpass so I have 2 hours of free administration which I can use for kernel updates.
    Besides that small kernel issue I've been more than satisfied with their support. When I wanted reinstall of my system since some glibc libraries were broken I got call from them telling me that I shouldn't pay $90 for reinstall but let them fix it, I said sure OK , and they fixed it and it's been working great since :)


    Dzevad
     
  16. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    [quote:774fcf181d][i:774fcf181d]Originally posted by dzevad[/i:774fcf181d]

    I also got 2.4.16PIII with my RH 7.2, when I asked about 2.4.18 they told me that this kernel is safe and secure to use and that if I want 2.4.18 I would have to pay extra. In mean time I got Goldpass so I have 2 hours of free administration which I can use for kernel updates.
    Besides that small kernel issue I've been more than satisfied with their support. When I wanted reinstall of my system since some glibc libraries were broken I got call from them telling me that I shouldn't pay $90 for reinstall but let them fix it, I said sure OK , and they fixed it and it's been working great since :)


    Dzevad[/quote:774fcf181d]

    I pointed out to them yesterday that I had other 7.2 machines running the 2.4.18 kernel and they said they made a mistake, that my machine did not need a custom kernel, and upgraded the kernel to 2.4.18 for no charge.
     
  17. dzevad

    dzevad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Tell me how did it go? So I can order too :)
     
  18. billmicke

    billmicke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have ded servers with Dialtone. I have to pay a little extra for custom partitioning and installation of RH 7.1. They have never given me a problem. I highly recommend them. Too bad they are not a Reseller for Cpanel.
     
  19. dzevad

    dzevad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    When I was ordering I asked for RH 7.1 with custom partitioning and sales manager told me it will be extra $45, I said ok, but when I got invoice it wasn't included, and they didn't bill me for that.

    Dzevad
     
  20. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    [quote:2ff2a02b1e][i:2ff2a02b1e]Originally posted by dzevad[/i:2ff2a02b1e]

    Tell me how did it go? So I can order too :)[/quote:2ff2a02b1e]

    So far there have been no problems.
     
Loading...

Share This Page