The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Difference between addon and sub domains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by capture, Apr 14, 2006.

  1. capture

    capture Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ozarks USA
    I have been using cpanel for over 3 years now.
    I have the WHM for all of my domains. I teach
    an online class about HTML, and more recently
    "How to Use CPanel".

    Using graphics, with text explanations LIVE
    online is how I do this but:
    I have NEVER had to "Add on" a domain from
    the CPanel main menu.

    I cannot figure out what is supposed to be typed
    in the line Username/directory/subdomain Name: :eek:

    Domain Name, and Password, I understand. What goes
    in the second line: one item, or 3 different items separated
    by forward slashes?

    Thanks for an explanation.:cool:

    capture :D
     
  2. randomuser2

    randomuser2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That field is where the contents of the Addon Domain will be placed, and will probably be filled in by default if you just hit the tab key. So, if you have somedomain.com that you're creating as an Addon Domain, by default it would create: /home/username/public_html/somedomain/

    The somedomain/ directory is where the contents would be uploaded to if you FTPd into the server using the password you placed in the 3rd box. Make sense?
     
  3. capture

    capture Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ozarks USA
    Yes, I do understand the concept. Because I
    have the WHM, I can't really create an AddOn
    domain. I am just using one of my dormant
    domains (I have 7) to screenshot the graphics,
    and add the appropriate text to my webpage
    tutorial.

    So, when I edit my screenshot graphic, and put
    graphic text in the box, public_html/the username
    or domain name without the http:// would correctly
    show my students what to type in the box?

    Thank you for your reply.

    Regards,
    capture :D
     
  4. Lord Merlin

    Lord Merlin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can someone please tell me exactly what an addon domain is? I tried setting one up, but with no luck. What is the purpose of a addon domain, how is it being used, and what is the correct way to set it up?
     
  5. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    addon domain is a domain installed on a nominated sub directory of your hosting account

    for example

    main domain of hosting
    domain.com

    subdirectory of your hosting
    domain.com/add/

    addon domain installs on sub directory

    addondomain.com > domain.com/add/
     
  6. randomuser2

    randomuser2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    To expand on what gorilla said - an Addon Domain is a domain that you add to your hosting service via cPanel. So, you have domain1.com as your primary cPanel domain. You just bought domain2.com, and want to have it hosted as well. You go to the Addon Domain section in cPanel, and there's 3 boxes:

    1. domain name (minus the www.)
    2. directory name (this will say username/directory/something else)
    3. FTP password

    So you would fill it in like this:

    1. domain2.com
    2. (if you leave this blank, it should fill in "domain2" by default)
    3. (FTP password. When you log into the FTP account for domain2.com, you will be placed in the directory "domain2", which is where the web content for the domain is stored)

    There is only 1 cPanel for your account, and that's for the domain you signed up with (each domain does not get its own cPanel, which is a common misconception at first). With Addon Domains, you are just adding on more domains for hosting under your cPanel account.
     
Loading...

Share This Page