The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Different /home directory for certain accounts?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bronco92, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. bronco92

    bronco92 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a server with approx 300 accounts on it. They are all stored at:

    /home/accountname/

    The hard-drive with the /home folder in it is getting full.

    I would like add all future new accounts to a separate hard-drive:

    /home2/accountname/

    How can this be specified when creating the account in WHM?
     
  2. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you mount it as /home2/ it will automatically use it for accounts. It should place all new accounts on the new one. You can also use WHM -> rearrange accounts to move some over to the other drive.
     
  3. vheeds

    vheeds Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You can accomplish this task by following the below mentioned procedure:

    * Login to WHM
    * Go to Main >> Account Information >> List Accounts
    * In the 'Please choose a new mount point for this account:' drop down menu, you can choose the new drive and click 'move account' button.
     
  4. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    If you want to setup all the new accounts on /home2 partition, you need to mention the partition name in

    The option is

    Enter the location where you wish for new users’ home directories to be created

    change it from /home to /home2 and the very next domain that you add, will be created on /home2/.

    BTW, in case you want to move some old domains home directories from /home to /home2, just move the /home/username folder to /home2 and create a symlink i.e.

     
  5. bronco92

    bronco92 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for all the help guys.
     
Loading...

Share This Page