The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dire warnings, what is the problem?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jerrypr, Jun 24, 2004.

1. jerrypr

jerrypr Active Member

Hi,

I'm as security aware as the next person, and I actually pay attention to security. However, the "RED BOX" warnings leave lots to be desired as far as information is concerned.

"A Security hole has been discovered..." No further info, no way to assess what the threat is, or how serious. No real info whatsoever, actually. A click box shows up and the "upgrade" will fix it.

Maybe I'm just an old school admin, but shouldn't there be a clickable link telling you what is up there? I like to know what the problem is, really.

Just wondering if anybody else had comments or suggestions about this.

Thanks,
    J.

2. picoyak

picoyak Well-Known Member

3. jerrypr

jerrypr Active Member

I'm not sure where I'd look for this, to be honest.

However, for software that I pay for, I expect that the people I'm paying can provide a little more explanation then what is in the blurb right now, which is none at all. Even a "more details" line linked to the changelog would be appreciated.

I'm not asking for huge bells and whistles, but a link to a paragraph or two would be much more helpful.

I'm not even unwilling to dig a bit, but until your post back I didn't even realize there _was_ a changelog publicly available. And I don't think that digging should be needed ... there is plenty of info on bugfixes, just not security issues.

Thanks for your pointer though.

J.

4. jerrypr

jerrypr Active Member

Ah, ok. No info there for security problems. :(