The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disable backup for new accounts?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by erinspice, Jul 26, 2007.

  1. erinspice

    erinspice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have account backups enabled on some accounts only. How do I disable backup on newly created accounts? I don't want new accounts backed up until I specifically enable them, but it seems backups are turned on by default for all new accounts.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could always create a feature list that does not have the backup functionality enabled, assign that to a package and assign that package to new customers.
     
  3. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This won't stop the main CPanel cpbackup though, will it? Is that what they are asking?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Disabling something in a feature list never disables the underlying daemons that may be used for that functionality (at least how things are coded right now). So cpbackup will still run for server backups, even if the backup functionality is disabled in the end-user's interface.
     
  5. erinspice

    erinspice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I want it to run, I just want it to run only on the limited number of accounts I have specifically selected, and stop adding every new account to that list. It's not backing up old accounts that I don't have selected, and I don't want it to backup new accounts that I don't have selected either.
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could always create a shell script that runs /scripts/pkgacct for certain users.
     
  7. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What does it matter if the new account is backed up? Do your clients pay for backup? If so, you could back it up anyway but just not do any restores unless they start paying for it. If you don't do backups you can't do an emergency restore, which could cause you a lot of pain.
     
  8. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    As Brian says, ....


    Just for your own peace of mind, what if you need backups due to a drive failure? Thats one sure-fire way of losing many clients. Sorry, our drive failed and since you didn't pay for backup service, you are SOL. I highly doubt they would stick with your service after that.

    Most clients would be understanding of hardware failure but not very understanding that they have no way to recover their many hours of collaborated online work and company man hours of wages and lost time.

    Just my 2 cents worth. If you cant back it up, don't sell it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page