The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

disable cPanel firewall

Discussion in 'Security' started by uadm, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. uadm

    uadm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    we have csf on our server, however cPanel put it's own rules. After Everytime we remove cPanel rules they re-apeare.
    How do we stop cPanel rules from emerging?

    Thanks.
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think you are mistaken, AFAIK cPanel does not install and/or maintain any kind of firewall.
     
  3. uadm

    uadm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    There's a firewall chain called acctboth that is on all of our cpanel servers. When ever we remove it, it emerges aagain.
    I'm pretty sure it's cpanel doing.
     
  4. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could be, but we also have CSF in all our servers and never had problems with rules.

    EDIT:
    Found this:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/iptables-acctboth-chain-74575.html
     
    #4 quietFinn, Dec 20, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2013
  5. uadm

    uadm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I don't think it's harmless, it blocks ftp passive mode at list.

    Is there any way to disable it?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can reproduce this issue? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  7. uadm

    uadm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I now think this was a misunderstanding of one of our tech. We still investigating and will let you know if needed.

    Thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page