The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disable ipv6 for EXIM

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by musti19, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. musti19

    musti19 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    because some mail providers cant handle ipv6,
    i want to disable ipv6 only for the mailserver exim.
    How can i do this?
     
  2. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    #2 simonas, Sep 28, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 30, 2013
  3. HostingH

    HostingH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    To disable IPv6 for exim, please go through following steps,

    Change following line in exim.conf

    Search for :hostlist loopback = <; 127.0.0.0/8 ; 0.0.0.0 ; ::1 ; 0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:ffff:7f00:0000/8

    and replace it with : hostlist loopback = <; 127.0.0.0/8 ; 0.0.0.0

    Restart Exim.

    try it.
     
  4. musti19

    musti19 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    thank you for fast replys.

    If i do that, then i have problems to send emails:
    unable to bind outgoing SMTP call to [ADDITIONAL IP]: Cannot assign requested addressfailed: Cannot assign requested address

    (I have a seperate IP for exim)

    if i remove the line disable_ipv6 = true,
    it works... but then again with ipv6
     
  5. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Maybe IPv6 Address got cached. Try to restart server.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This error can happen if the IP address is not bound to the server. Try restarting the "ipaliases" service via:

    Code:
    service ipaliases restart
    Thank you.
     
  7. musti19

    musti19 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank You very much !
    that solved my problem
     
Loading...

Share This Page