Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Disable ipv6 for EXIM

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by musti19, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. musti19

    musti19 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    because some mail providers cant handle ipv6,
    i want to disable ipv6 only for the mailserver exim.
    How can i do this?
     
  2. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    #2 simonas, Sep 28, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 30, 2013
  3. HostingH

    HostingH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    To disable IPv6 for exim, please go through following steps,

    Change following line in exim.conf

    Search for :hostlist loopback = <; 127.0.0.0/8 ; 0.0.0.0 ; ::1 ; 0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:ffff:7f00:0000/8

    and replace it with : hostlist loopback = <; 127.0.0.0/8 ; 0.0.0.0

    Restart Exim.

    try it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. musti19

    musti19 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    thank you for fast replys.

    If i do that, then i have problems to send emails:
    unable to bind outgoing SMTP call to [ADDITIONAL IP]: Cannot assign requested addressfailed: Cannot assign requested address

    (I have a seperate IP for exim)

    if i remove the line disable_ipv6 = true,
    it works... but then again with ipv6
     
  5. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Maybe IPv6 Address got cached. Try to restart server.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This error can happen if the IP address is not bound to the server. Try restarting the "ipaliases" service via:

    Code:
    service ipaliases restart
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. musti19

    musti19 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank You very much !
    that solved my problem
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice