Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disable (KEEP DNS ZONE)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MarceloKonrath, Mar 11, 2018.

  1. MarceloKonrath

    MarceloKonrath Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello

    is there any way to disable KEEP DNS ZONE?

    I have used cPanel for 13 years and have never found a way to disable it.

    The problem occurs because many resellers check this option when they remove an account and after they can not re-create the same account.

    This generates a lot of unnecessary support.

    Thank you
    Marcelo
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,215
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It's currently not possible to prevent this option from appearing in the WHM UI when a reseller terminates an account. I encourage you to open a feature request for the ability to exclude this option from appearing in WHM for resellers:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
  3. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    328
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've often wondered what the point of the "Keep DNS" option is in the WHM. When is deleting an account and keeping the DNS record applicable? For the 1 or 2 times out of ever 1000 times it might have an application (which I still don't know what that is), just delete everything, including the DNS, and Add the DNS entry back.

    The best solution we have found is to just disable the Keep DNS checkbox.

    Using the patch file attached, run the command:

    patch -p0 < disablekeepdns.patch

    Basically this changes line 216 of the file /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot/templates/killacct/views/RemoveView.ptt from:

    <input id="checkbox-keepdns-{{ account.username }}" type="checkbox" ng-model="account.keep_dns"></input>

    to

    <input id="checkbox-keepdns-{{ account.username }}" type="checkbox" ng-model="account.keep_dns" disabled="disabled"></input>

    You can make a request in the feature section, but it always takes too long for things to get accomplished there for me.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,215
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It's primarily utilized when migrating an account from one server to another when both servers are part of the same DNS cluster.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page