Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Disable SpamAssassin By Default

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by akust0m, Jun 21, 2018.

Tags:
  1. akust0m

    akust0m Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Melbourne
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey there!

    I understand that recently cPanel made an adjustment to turn on SpamAssassin by default for cPanel accounts.

    How do I turn off SpamAssassin by default, but still gives users the option to enable it manually within cPanel if they wish?

    Thanks!
     
    #1 akust0m, Jun 21, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2018
  2. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    275
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    v70.0.51

    Home »Service Configuration »Exim Configuration Manager

    Apache SpamAssassin™ Options

    Apache SpamAssassin™: Forced Global ON [?]
    Turn on Apache SpamAssassin™ for all accounts (i.e. with no option to disable).

    Set OFF
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. akust0m

    akust0m Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Melbourne
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for your reply.

    This option is already off. But a recent cPanel update (I think 68) caused SpamAssassin to be enabled by default in newly created cPanel accounts.

    Setting 'Enable Apache SpamAssassin™ spam filter' to 'Off' in 'Tweak Settings' causes SpamAssassin to be unavailable for all users.

    How do you override cPanel's new behavior and disable SpamAssassin by default on account creation.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @akust0m,

    When creating a new account, the following option now exists under the "Settings" section as of cPanel & WHM version 70:

    Enable Apache SpamAssassin™

    You can uncheck this option when creating the account to disable SpamAssassin. For existing accounts, this option is changeable through WHM >> Modify an Account. This setting is also available with the following WHM API 1 functions:

    WHM API 1 Functions - createacct - Developer Documentation - cPanel Documentation
    WHM API 1 Functions - modifyacct - Developer Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    If you don't want to manually uncheck the Enable Apache SpamAssassin™ option each time you create an account, you could setup a post account creation hook that makes use of the modifyacct WHM API 1 function. Information about hooks is available at:

    Guide to Standardized Hooks - Developer Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. akust0m

    akust0m Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Melbourne
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi @cPanelMichael

    Thank you for the reply on this, I've been quite delayed on getting a reply back to you.

    Are there any plans for automatic provisioning from WHMCS to disable SpamAssassin upon account activation (aside from setting up a manual hook)?

    The reason I'd prefer SpamAssassin to not be activated by default is because our hosting accounts are automatically provisioned with SpamExperts as it is included for the primary domain. SpamAssassin becomes redundant and wastes extra server resources due to double scanning. Our clients only use SpamAssassin for add-on domains.

    Thanks!
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    I don't know of any specific plans for WHMCS to offer that functionality, but I encourage you to check with their support team to verify that information, and otherwise open a feature request via their feature request website at:

    WHMCS Feature Requests

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice