The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disable stats on select accounts only

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jcsolutions, May 15, 2003.

  1. jcsolutions

    jcsolutions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    I found the above post in the forums and am wondering if the opposite would be true. Can I enable Webalizer in the WHM and use FEATURE-WEBALIZER=0 in the /var/cpanel/users/user file to disable it just for that account?

    If that will work, is there a similar command for Awstats and Analog stats?

    I want to be able to do this because I have a couple clients who don't want the stats at all, but they need the disk space the stats take up.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. roman

    roman Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This would be great if this would work for all the stats programs, and or having stats ran less often for particular sites (busy busy sites) to save on resources rather than doing it to all sites on/off.
     
  3. jcsolutions

    jcsolutions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Update

    Here's an update on the situation.

    Yesterday, I deleted the /home/username/public_html/tmp/webalizer directory, then entered FEATURE-WEBALIZER=0 in the /var/cpanel/users/username file. When I came back today to look at the results, a new webalizer directory had not been created. When I click on Webalizer in the control panel, it just shows a blank screen.

    I'm going to leave it alone for another day just to make sure, but I believe we can safely assume that this works. Webalizer has now been disabled on 1 select account. :D

    Now, how about the other stats programs? Any news there?
     
  4. jcsolutions

    jcsolutions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Well, turns out I didn't wait long enough. The Webalizer stats are back. :(

    There must be a way to disable the stats on 1 account. Anyone??
     
  5. luisp

    luisp Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portugal
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    hello,

    i also want to know this.

    I need to disable stats in one account. Any solution?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If it's just one account, I would re-direct the log files on apache into the root of their domain. That way the stats program won't run the logs an they can get them later if needed.

    -Charles

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. jcsolutions

    jcsolutions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks for the suggestion. I'd love to try it, but I'm not sure how. (Sorry, I'm still learning.) Would you mind giving a quick run through on how one would go about doing this?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. spaceman

    spaceman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'd also really like to see Cpanel / WHM upgraded so that we do have the option to turn off (or on) services as webalizer and analog and others on a per account basis.

    It's much better to do allow this via the CPanel / WHM GUI than frigging around with the command line.

    Here's hoping...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. torwill

    torwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    here is what i did, i deleted all log files and directory (keep /tmp) for the account. then chattr +i tmp directory.

    no logs or whatssoever created.


    it works for me, but i don't know what bad things this could have done.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page